Guide to the Presidency SET

Guide to the Presidency SET

by Michael Nelson (Editor)

Hardcover(Fourth Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, February 1


Guide to the Presidency is the leading reference source on the persons who have occupied the White House and on the institution of the presidency itself. Readers turn to this guide for its vast array of factual information about the institution and the presidents, as well as for its analytical chapters that explain the structure and operations of the office and the president's relationship to co-equal branches of government, Congress and the Supreme Court.

This new edition is updated to include:

  • A new chapter on presidential power
  • Coverage of the expansion of presidential power under President George W. Bush

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780872893641
Publisher: SAGE Publications
Publication date: 07/02/2007
Series: Guide to the Presidency (2 Vols)
Edition description: Fourth Edition
Pages: 1890
Product dimensions: 11.00(w) x 8.60(h) x (d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Michael Nelson is Fulmer Professor of Political Science at Rhodes College and a senior fellow at the University of Virginia’s Miller Center. A former editor of the Washington Monthly, his most recent books include Trump’s First Year (2018); The Elections of 2016 (2018); The Evolving Presidency: Landmark Documents (2019); The American Presidency: Origins and Development (with Sidney M. Milkis, 2011); and Governing at Home: The White House and Domestic Policymaking (with Russell B. Riley, 2011). Nelson has contributed to numerous journals, including the Journal of Policy History, Journal of Politics, and Political Science Quarterly. He also has written multiple articles on subjects as varied as baseball, Frank Sinatra, and C. S. Lewis. More than fifty of his articles have been anthologized in works of political science, history, and English composition. His 2014 book, Resilient America: Electing Nixon, Channeling Dissent, and Dividing Government, won the American Political Science Association’s Richard E. Neustadt Award for best book on the presidency published that year; and his 2006 book with John Lyman Mason, How the South Joined the Gambling Nation, won the Southern Political Science Association’s V.O. Key Award.

Customer Reviews