by Mike OldfieldMike Oldfield


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 25


Ever the sonic experimentalist, Mike Oldfield uses guitars exclusively (strummed, plucked, struck, sampled, etc.) to create every sound on Guitars. Perhaps an intentional response to the composer's previous assortment of electronic recordings, the album suffers from its form-over-substance concept. The more delicate, acoustic material ("Summit Days," "Muse," "Enigmatism") has the meditative, elegant quality listeners would naturally expect from Oldfield. But the crunchier rock guitar ensembles seem to lack Oldfield's usual sense of order and purpose. "Four Winds," an unfinished cluster of distorted racket, really misses its mark. Miscues like this one demonstrate that Oldfield is as awkward with the rock form as he is accomplished with his subtle and meditative electronic creations. Innovative and at times beautiful, Guitars is another interesting experiment from one of modern music's most ambitious icons.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/1999
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0639842740128
catalogNumber: 427401
Rank: 63942


  1. Muse
  2. Cochise
  3. Embers
  4. Summit Day
  5. Out Of Sight
  6. B. Blues
  7. Four Winds
  8. Enigmatism
  9. Out Of Mind
  10. From The Ashes

Album Credits

Customer Reviews