Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


Never let tragedy define you.

After losing her family to renegade outlaws, Claire Whitcomb leaves Leadville, Colorado, headed for Tombstone. Armed with a Peacemaker, a rifle, and a letter of introduction to Wyatt Earp, Claire seeks a new life and new career in the Town Too Tough To Die. Along the way, she meets Isabella King, well-known actress and mistress of railroad magnate Jay Gould.

During an attempted train robbery Isabella's bodyguard is shot and killed, which leads her to hire Claire in his place. Unbeknownst to Claire, the actress is a target.

Which means Claire is, too.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940162878940
Publisher: Duct Tape Press
Publication date: 12/28/2020
Series: Claire Whitcomb Westerns , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
File size: 734 KB

About the Author

DV Berkom is the USA Today bestselling author of action-packed, fast-paced thrillers. Known for creating resilient, bad-ass women characters and page-turning plots, her love of the genre stems from a lifelong addiction to reading spy novels, action/adventure books, and crime thrillers.

A restless soul and adventurer at heart, she spent years moving around the US and traveling to exotic locales before she wrote her first novel and was hooked. More than a dozen books later, she now makes her home in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Mark, and several imaginary characters who like to tell her what to do. Her most recent books include Legend, Gunslinger, Retribution, Shadow of the Jaguar, Dakota Burn, Absolution, Dark Return, The Last Deception, and Vigilante Dead. DV's currently hard at work on her next thriller.

Other books by DV (in reading order):

Claire Whitcomb Westerns:
-Retribution (Book 1)
-Gunslinger (Book 2)
-Legend (Book 3) available January 2021

Kate Jones Thrillers:
-The Kate Jones Thriller Series, Vol. 1 (books #1-4): Bad Spirits, Dead of Winter, Death Rites, Touring for Death
-Cruising for Death
-Yucatán Dead
-A One Way Ticket to Dead
-Vigilante Dead

The Leine Basso Thriller Series :
-A Killing Truth
-Serial Date
-Bad Traffick
-The Body Market
-The Last Deception
-Dark Return
-Dakota Burn
-Shadow of the Jaguar

For more information, visit her website at To be included on her exclusive Readers' List and be the first to hear about new releases and subscriber-only offers go to:
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews