Gypsy [Original Broadway Cast]

Gypsy [Original Broadway Cast]

by Ethel MermanEthel Merman

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

$29.09 $29.99 Save 3% Current price is $29.09, Original price is $29.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This tribute to burlesque was a star vehicle for Ethel Merman. The score by Jule Styne and Stephen Sondheim includes the Merman standard "Everything's Coming Up Roses," and the song that is invariably used to introduce anything having to do with the strip tease, "Let Me Entertain You." A 702-performance hit in its original production (which is captured here), the show was considered the definitive Merman performance and the crowning achievement of her long career. (It marked her final appearance in a new Broadway musical, though she later appeared in revivals.) It is also considered one of the great American musicals of all time, balanced between the broad show business entertainment represented by composer Jule Styne and the modern, dark, psychological drama typical of Stephen Sondheim, who, as with his previous effort, West Side Story, was contributing only lyrics, though he would go on to write music and lyrics for a series of musicals from the 1960s on. ~ Marjorie Ellen Ruhlmann & William Ruhlmann

Product Details

Release Date: 04/21/2017
Label: Analog Sparks
UPC: 0888072015869
catalogNumber: 00026
Rank: 9353


  1. Overture
  2. Let Me Entertain You
  3. Some People
  4. Small World
  5. Baby June and Her Newsboys
  6. Mr. Goldstone, I Love You
  7. Little Lamb
  8. You'll Never Get Away From Me
  9. Dainty June and Her Farmboys
  10. If Momma Was Married
  11. All I Need is the Girl
  12. Everything's Coming Up Roses
  13. Together Wherever We Go
  14. You Gotta Have a Gimmick
  15. Let Me Entertain You
  16. Rose's Turn

Album Credits

Customer Reviews