Half The Lies You Tell Are True

Half The Lies You Tell Are True

by C.P. Wilson

Paperback

$14.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Overview

An unsettling, dark psychological thriller from the author of Ice Cold Alice.



In a world where internet rumour becomes real-world fact, do we ever really know anyone?



High school teacher Dougie Black is brutally attacked in school. Stabbed in front of his class by a pupil with no apparent motive, Dougie fights for his life in ICU whilst DS Lewis Gilmour attempts to unravel the events leading up to the attack.



As the doctors struggle to save Dougie's life, social media is rife with rumours about his private life. Mr Black's friends and family begin to question everything they thought they knew about him.



Who is Dougie Black? Why did a child attempt to murder him? How did so many years of lies lead to an horrific moment of violence?




Half The Lies You Tell Are True, is a dark glimpse at what social media has done to our integrity and our perception of each other. Perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Gone Girl.




Praise for CP Wilson:


"If you're looking for something to get your teeth into then this is the book for you which I cannot recommend enough giving 5 big massive stars." - Shell Baker.


"Sometimes you start reading a book and you stop to check the blurb again because you realise that the book you are reading far outweighs the book you were expecting! And that's what happened to me here because this book caught me out with a plot and setting that were far superior to anything I could have hoped for." - Joanne Robertson - Amazon Top 500 reviewer.


"C.P. Wilson kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end combining complex emotions with cruelty and gruesome scenes. The story is perfectly balanced and the suspense is skilfully distributed." - Suze Lavender.


"CP Wilson asks hard questions about society, domestic abuse and shared culpability." - Rowena, Murder, Mayhem and More.


"Throws you right in with the first harrowing scenes." - Caroline Vincent, Bits about Books.


"I think the author will certainly wow readers with this book and leave them begging for more." - Sarah Hardy, By The Letter Book Reviews.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781719160001
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 06/25/2018
Pages: 424
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.94(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Half The Lies You Tell Are True 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Dougie Black is a High School Biology teacher that is attacked and stabbed by his student Harry Jardine. As Dougie fights for his life in the hospital, rumors start flying on social media about what happened and the supposed “truth” behind the scenes. Then there is Francesca, Frankie, Malone. Frankie is a teacher that was mentored by Dougie when she first started. The rumors can’t be true but the more she looks into them the more she starts questioning herself about Dougie. What is the truth? It’s up to DS Lewis Gilmour to figure this out. This is a story that could have easily came out of any newspaper today. Everyone relies on social media so much, especially the younger generation that lives are seriously being affected. How many suicides have been caused from social media? Murders? Worse? This story kits right at this topic. Dougie has had his share of a hard life and is currently trying to deal with his wife’s dementia. Of course there are things in his past that he has done that can affect him today, he is only human. Then you have Harris whose mother could care less if he was even around. His step father abuses him physically and mentally. But he is a victim of bullying from social media too. It is so sad how much social media affects people. They instantly get riled up and go off to argue or protest and not fact check or really look at the whole situation. This book is a great representation of what is happening in real life and is heartbreaking to read. But it is one that I recommend everyone read, especially today’s kids and young adults. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
High School Biology Teacher Dougie Black is stabbed in a brutal attack by one of his students, apparently for no reason. He's rushed to the hospital where the fight for his life will begin. Because the attacker is a minor, his name is kept from the press. The news that leaks out starts with very little info.. and then steadily builds into a question of why this particular teacher was attacked. Evidently, the teacher must have done something...right? As social media and news media explode with theories, especially from the teenagers at the school, the investigation begins headed by DS Lewis Gilmore. The questions they ask lead Mr. Black's friends and colleagues to wonder about the private life of the man they thought they knew. Who is Dougie Black? Why did a child attempt to murder him? How did so many years of lies lead to an horrific moment of violence? What really happened in the school room that day? What a story! Part 1 tells of the current day. It's followed by news reports and tweets and posts on social media. It starts with wonderment, then followed by ... I heard that he ... he must have done something to deserve that .... What follows is the police investigation, when the cops start asking the hard questions .. has Mr Black ever touched a student inappropriately? Another staff member? Part 2 delves into the private lives of Mr. Black, the boy who stabbed him, and the students who knew the boy best. The book is extremely well written. The author's writing gives us a dark glimpse at what social media has done to our integrity and our perception of each other. In the day and age of 'fake media' this is the perfect example of what we see and hear every day. Th author combines complex emotions with cruelty and gruesome scenes. Besides the media, there are elements of bullying, both at home and school. Domestic violence plays a part in all this. Jealousy among teenagers who can't control their emotions. And parents who don't seem to know or care what's going on in their children's lives. The questioning of the students who witnessed the crime was interesting to watch. Most of their stories were identical ... were they rehearsed? or truth? All in all, an exceptional story! Many thanks to the author who provided a digital copy of this dark psychological thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.