Halfway: A chilling and twisted thriller for a dark winter night

Halfway: A chilling and twisted thriller for a dark winter night

by B. E. Jones

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Three women. One killer. No turning back.

A chilling thriller set in isolated Welsh countryside, perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and The Chestnut Man by Søren Sveistrup.

The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass and hidden deep in inhospitable countryside. One winter's night, two women end up knocking on the door, seeking refuge as a blizzard takes hold.

But why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father trying so hard to tell them?

At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run - but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she's stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the local district nurse is missing, she jumps at the chance to investigate her disappearance.

The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm, but soon realise they might have been safer on the road. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas . . .
__________________________

What everyone's saying about Halfway:

'I absolutely loved this book which kept me hooked and desperate to read just one more page!'
Reader review, 5 stars

'SO twisty . . . very well written' Reader review

'Totally hooked!' Reader review

'A fast-paced, tension-filled, twisty read' Reader review

'One of the creepiest novels I have ever read . . . hooks you in and puts you on the edge of your seat' Reader review, 5 stars

'A chilling twist . . . a fantastic thriller' Reader review, 5 stars

'BEST CRIME NOVEL I'VE READ THIS YEAR!!!' Reader review, 5 stars

'A really gripping read . . . couldn't put it down' Reader review

'Stunning . . . the only book I can compare Halfway to is Gone Girl ' Reader review, 5 stars

'A twisty, thrilling ride' Reader review, 5 stars

'Mesmerising, irrestistible and full of suspense' Reader review, 5 stars

'A gripping, fast-paced thriller. . . I absolutely loved this' Reader review, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472127921
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 05/10/2018
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,180,856
File size: 996 KB

About the Author

B.E. Jones is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and book obsessive. She was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff and started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today.

She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV. Most recently she worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning. Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of 'true crime,' and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.

Customer Reviews