Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Happy Together [Bonus Tracks]

Happy Together [Bonus Tracks]

by The Turtles The Turtles
Happy Together [Bonus Tracks]

Happy Together [Bonus Tracks]

by The Turtles The Turtles

CD(Special Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, February 10


The Turtles' third original album (and their highest charting, peaking at number 25) was also their most rewarding, filled with mostly first-rate songs beautifully executed. The hits singles "Happy Together" and "She'd Rather Be with Me" (both authored by Garry Bonner and Alan Gordon of the East Coast band the Magicians) helped propel the LP's sales, but there was a cornucopia of superb music surrounding them. Opening with "Makin' My Mind Up," driven by horns and a jangly folk-rock guitar, the album pulls the listener through the goofy Hollywood-spawned pop of "Guide for the Married Man" (co-written by John Williams, and a third single off the LP, but not a hit) and the gentle Kaylan/Volman-composed "Think I'll Run Away," one of the two prettiest tunes on this record. And that's just the first eight minutes -- the weirdly trippy "Walking Song" and the Bonner/Gordon "Me About You" (the latter also a great showcase for Chip Douglas' bass) also awaited listeners headed for "Happy Together." Side two is no less impressive, offering a piece of psychedelic pop authored by Carole King and Gerry Goffin, and the hauntingly beautiful "Like the Seasons," the B-side to "Happy Together," composed by a young Warren Zevon. The band saves its boldest satirical impulses for the finale, "Rugs of Woods and Flowers." Its easy, unforced, quietly clever take on psychedelic pop makes this one of the more deceptively beguiling records of its era -- as well as the best of the Turtles' original albums. And ironically, Happy Together was also a better showcase for Bonner and Gordon's music than their own band, the Magicians, ever gave them. [A 2017 reissue added six bonus tracks.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/2017
Label: Manifesto Records
UPC: 0767004804323
catalogNumber: 48043
Rank: 22172


  1. Makin' Up My Mind
  2. Guide for the Married Man
  3. Think I'll Run Away
  4. The Walking Song
  5. Me About You
  6. Happy Together
  7. She'd Rather Be With Me
  8. Too Young to Be One
  9. Person Without a Care
  10. Like the Seasons
  11. Rugs of Woods and Flowers
  12. Makin' My Mind Up
  13. Guide for the Married Man
  14. Think I'll Run Away
  15. The Walking Song
  16. Me About You
  17. Happy Together
  18. She'd Rather Be With Me
  19. Too Young to Be the One
  20. Person Without a Care
  21. Like the Seasons
  22. Rugs of Woods and Flowers

Album Credits

Customer Reviews