by Shae Ford


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 22


Seventeen years ago, a long and bloody rebellion wracked the six united regions of the Kingdom. Now the new King wields the vast and unvanquished army of Midlan with his right hand, and with his left has granted a small group of thugs — the nobles he calls his Sovereign Five — unbridled rule over the other regions. As if this weren’t bad enough, the King has also outlawed the practice of whispering — which is a problem for Kael.

It’s not like he asked to be born a whisperer: he didn’t ask for his strange healing powers anymore than he asked to be the village runt. And when he rescues a wounded girl from the perils of the Unforgivable Mountains, his luck only gets worse. She couldn’t have been just any girl: she had to be Kyleigh —the sword-wielding renegade knight with all of Midlan on her trail. Then one miserable, snowy evening, things go from bad to worse, and Kael is left with no choice but to follow Kyleigh down the mountains and into the tumultuous lowlands. She leads him on one mad quest after the next — eventually pulling off an act of such mischievous proportions that it threatens to change the Kingdom as they know it.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780692616048
Publisher: Shae Ford
Publication date: 01/15/2016
Series: Fate's Forsaken , #1
Pages: 398
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Shae Ford is a USA Today bestselling author from Ft. Worth, Texas. Her debut fantasy quartet, Fate's Forsaken, follows the story of Kael: a young man who is gifted with extraordinary powers, but plagued by rotten bad luck. To learn more about the author or the series, please visit www.FatesForsaken.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Harbinger 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
hikerdana More than 1 year ago
Often you read a story and they explain everything out in great detail. How things work, the history of the world and all about each character, and it all gets dumped on the reader at one time. In this story, Shae Ford, weaves the details throughout the story to be discovered. Yet, not in like other stories where the character is kept in the dark of things that could be useful, this does not happen here. Would the character have liked to know sooner? YES! Would it have made a difference, not really. Here Kale, is told why he is special, but doesn't believe. Yet he doesn't go through the whole story in doubt. He eventually accepts the fact, just like we would after we are given proof. And then he must learn and grow and is not perfect. The love interest is one of the best. The tension is there, but it bounces back and forth. All for good reasons. New characters add dimension and don't clog up the story. And each character comes and goes, yet the story remains firmly on Kael. We get glimpses in what other characters are doing, but it doesn't create a whole new story line to follow. I really loved the three books so far and am awaiting the next one. One other thing is all three stories can be read alone. They each end, but we know there is more to be done so want to read about the next adventure. I hope there is more then 4 books.
Non_Anonymously More than 1 year ago
Excellent story. Well written, I do not recall many punctionation/grammatical errors, which is a great relief. The story was gripping and fast paced with well thought out characters. I also read the sequel to this story, and it is just as good. Highly recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and engaging