Harbingers of Twentieth-Century Neo-classicism

Harbingers of Twentieth-Century Neo-classicism

by Finn Egeland Hansen


Usually ships within 6 days


This book proposes a new theory about the neo-classical style in music. The Danish emeritus professor Finn Egeland Hansen has chosen three different composers - the French Camille Saint-Saens and Charles Gounod, and the Danish Niels W. Gade - to discuss his thesis that the main classical-romantic current of the 19th century in fact represents two sub-currents. One sub-current focusing on the romantic aspects, the other focusing on the classical aspects of its musical style. In close readings of works by these three composers, Hansen demonstrates how in different aspects they were harbingers of the neo-classical style - a style that is usually exemplified through later composers like Igor Stravinsky, Paul Hindemith and the members of the French group Les Six. Hansen labels these harbingers' style as retro-classicism. Finn Egeland Hansen's doctoral dissertation was on The Grammar of Gregorian Tonality (1979), and his most recent book is Layers of Musical Meaning (2006). Since 1990 he has been Chairman of the Foundation for the Publication of the Works of Niels W. Gade.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9788771847116
Publisher: Aarhus University Press
Publication date: 06/03/2019
Pages: 100
Product dimensions: 6.70(w) x 9.60(h) x 0.40(d)

Table of Contents

1 Preliminaries 7

1.1 Classicism versus romanticism 7

1.2 Implied structure of textbooks on 19th-century music history 8

1.3 The Thesis 8

1.3.1 Comments on Ferchault's article 13

1.4 Saint-Saëns' Aesthetical Preferences 14

2 Charles Gounod (1818-93) 19

2.1 The Symphonies 19

2.2 Gounod's Masses 24

2.3 Other Vocal Works 44

3 Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) 48

3.1 The Symphonic Works 48

3.2 Piano Music 68

3.3 The Chamber Music 71

4 Niels W. Gade (1817-1890) 75

4.1 String Quartets Nos. 1 and 2 75

4.2 Cantata Zion, op. 49 80

5 Neo-classicism 91

6 Parenthesis on the Danish composer Paul von Klenau (1883-1946) 104

7 Conclusion 105

List of quoted literature 106

List of music editions 107

Customer Reviews