Hard Core Poetry [Bonus Tracks]

Hard Core Poetry [Bonus Tracks]

by Tavares


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


Because Johnny Bristol served Tavares so well on its debut album, Check It Out, it was logical to assume that he would be producing the group's next project. Instead, Tavares switched producers on its second album, Hard Core Poetry, and joined forces with the Dennis Lambert/Brian Potter team. Having worked with the Four Tops and others, Lambert and Potter had an impressive track record when it came to Northern soul, and they do right by Tavares on this excellent sophomore effort. In addition to producing the LP, Lambert and Potter handle most of the writing. The only track they didn't write is a cover of Hall & Oates' "She's Gone," which became a number one R&B hit for Tavares. All of the other tracks are Lambert/Potter compositions, and their writing is excellent on material that ranges from the dramatic "Too Late" and the sentimental "Remember What I Told You to Forget" (a number four R&B hit) to the inspiring "Someone to Go Home To." Full of gems, Hard Core Poetry is among Tavares' most essential albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2013
Label: Soulmusic Records
UPC: 5013929079731
catalogNumber: 2907973
Rank: 35072

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tavares   Primary Artist
Larry Carlton   Guitar
Ben Benay   Guitar
Boogie Symphony   Strings
Gary Coleman   Percussion
Scott Edwards   Bass
Wilton Felder   Bass
Ed Greene   Drums
Dennis Lambert   Keyboards
Michael Omartian   Conductor,Keyboards
Dean Parks   Guitar
Brian Potter   Percussion
Sid Sharp   Concert Master
Jeana Jackson   Narrator

Technical Credits

Daryl Hall   Composer
Larkin Arnold   Executive Producer
Dennis Lambert   Composer,Producer
Michael Omartian   Arranger
John Oates   Composer
Brian Potter   Composer,Producer
Joe Sidore   Engineer
David Nathan   Reissue Producer
Roy Kohara   Art Direction
Roger Williams   Artwork
Richard Rankin   Cover Photo
Chris Rizik   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews