A Hard Death

A Hard Death

by Jonathan Hayes

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Overview

“A real player in the game of forensic sleuthing.” —Kathy Reichs, author of Spider Bones 

“Forensic pathologist Jonathan Hayes brings his authentic voice—and a fascinating protagonist—to the crime novel.” —Linda Fairstein, author of Silent Mercy 

Forensic pathologist Edward Jenner returns in this explosive sequel to Precious Blood—an edgy, electrifying thriller set in a small-town coastal community where nothing is as it seems. Fans of Sam Bourne, Jefferson Bass, and James Grippando will be captivated by Jonathan Hayes’s intricate tale of betrayal, blood, and conspiracy—a chilling suspense novel made all the more enthralling by author Hayes’s vivid details, culled from a lifetime of first-hand experience as a homicide forensics specialist in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061691782
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/27/2012
Series: Edward Jenner Series , #2
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Jonathan Hayes, a veteran forensic pathologist, has been a New York City medical examiner, performing autopsies and testifying in murder trials, since 1990. A former contributing editor at Martha Stewart Living, Hayes has written for the New York Times, New York magazine, GQ, and Food & Wine. He is also the author of Precious Blood.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hard Death 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Both books were well written and seemed accurate to a novice like me. Not for the weak at heart. Detailed to a fault. Jenner was an excellent hero and rates a 3rd book. Hats off.
christinelstanley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is brutal but real. Jonathan Hayes writes cleverly and the main character Dr Edward Jenner is so likeable, flaws and all. You wonder how one person can have so much bad luck. I preferred Precious Blood, and recommend that it is read first to understand Jenner's situation better, but this still get a 5 star rating from me. More please.............
miyurose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn¿t read the first book in this series. Despite there obviously being a lot that happened, you get the gist of it through this book. Jenner took things into his own hands while in New York, and as a result he is now working in Florida, trying to lay low and just do his job. But when the man who hired him is found dead, just the first in a chain of strange events, laying low is no longer an option.This isn¿t a happy book. Hayes does a nice job of maintaining the noir feel, even when there is a little bit of romance involved. I thought the forensics were well handled, and was interested in the portrayal of the migrant farms, of both the workers and the people who run them. And Jenner is a man who believes in doing what¿s right, no matter the consequences to himself.My one complaint is that Hayes goes a bit overboard with making the bad guy bad. There¿s one aspect of him that is particularly horrifying, and I¿m not sure it was necessary. The guy was bad enough without throwing in that extra dysfunction.Overall, I enjoyed this book and look forward to not only picking up the first in the series, Precious Blood, but seeing what comes next.
caitemaire on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When disgraced pathologist Dr. Edward Jenner loses his medical license in his home of NYC, he is happy to receive the invitation from his old mentor to fill in during his vacation. The pay in Port Fontaine, Florida might not be much, but it's something. That is until he called to the site of a body found out in the glades, a body that appears to have been tortured before his death..and it turn out to be that same mentor, Dr. Martin Roburn. Things get even worse when he is called to another murder, in fact four decomposing bodies, of Mexican migrant workers, tied up in the trees on an island deep in the swamp, and their are signs the murders may be connected.Before you can jump in the airboat, we are in the middle of a fast paced thriller involving drug cartels, the very wealthy local country club set, child sex trade, and a sick and violent conspiracy that will go to the very heart of the community. It soon becomes apparent to Jenner that there may be very few people he can trust and it will be a race to see who will get taken down first, them or him.Jenner is a classic flawed, troubled hero, yet smart and with a deep sense of justice. I think to fully understand that you would have to read the author's first book, Precious Blood, that had Jenner in NYC pursuing a serial killer. I didn't, but I think we receive enough information in this book for that not to be an issue.Jenner, like so many of these flawed fellows. has a bad habit of going after the wrong woman, in this case a local rich girl, Maggie Craine. Her scene with her father by the pool was truly creepy and will leave you considering taking a shower. Meanwhile there is that nice park ranger Deb, who our good doc seems to ignore again and again. Will these guys never learn? But Jenner is not above talking on some danger, even the female variety, for a good cause.A fast paced, totally entertaining thriller, as hot and dangerous as the steamy Everglade setting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would love to read more of his work
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite “A Hard Death”, a novel of suspense by Jonathan Hayes is a good book. This is the second book about forensic pathologist Edward Jenner. I did not read that book, “Precious Blood”, but it was not necessary. “A Hard Death” is a great stand alone crime fiction book. The story line is action packed and thrilling from the first pages and becomes intertwined with old and new friends, Mexican migrant workers, and rich and poor people, all involved in murders and a lucrative drug business. Dr. Jenner goes to the small town of Port Fontaine, Florida, to fill-in as Douglas County pathologist, while Dr. Marty Roburn, his long time friend and mentor, takes a long awaited vacation with his wife. Shortly after arriving in town Dr. Jenner is faced with his first case. A car pulled up from the river containing the murdered bodies of Dr.& Mrs. Roburn. Next, Jenner is directed to the swamp and four decomposing bodies hanging from trees. Dr. Jenner becomes suspicious that these two murders are related in some way. He, along with a local detective, investigates and is forced to follow a twisted path to find the murderers. Along the way, Dr. Jenner finds romance with two women, the spoiled but confused daughter of the richest man in town and the sweet and caring park ranger. “A Hard Death” has a strong plot with characters who are well-defined. Dr. Jenner is the hero and I found myself cheering him on as he dealt with some unsavory characters. Jonathan Hayes has written a great forensic crime novel. I anxiously await the next adventure of Dr. Jenner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
New York City forensic pathologist Dr. Edward Jenner has his medical license revoked by the State for his killing the Inquisitor (see Precious Blood). Stunned by the political culpability targeting him as the fall guy for rescuing a woman from certain death, Edward relocates to serve as a substitute for his former boss Doc Marty Roburn, chief medical officer of Douglas County, Florida. Doc and his beloved wife Roberta have gone on a fishing vacation while Jenner expects plenty of relaxation in the resort town of Port Elizabeth. Jenner and a law enforcement team watch a car being removed from the Everglades. Inside are two corpses, Doc and Roberta. Jenner quickly knows this was not an unfortunate accident nor is the deaths of four more people. Grieving for his boss while in a near rage, Jenner investigates with one goal to find the perpetrator. The symbolically titled A Hard Death (on the living Jenner) is an action packed forensic thriller as the hero is a knight in medical armor rescuing damsels and seeking a nasty killer while someone with a grudge stalks him. The story line is action-packed from the beginning but adds a major anguish to the mix when Jenner realizes who the corpses are. Sub-genre fans will appreciate this taut Everglades forensic mystery. Harriet Klausner