Error occurred while rendering Product Content.


Hard, Hard Traveling Man [Bear Family]

This four-CD box set picks up where Bear Family's previous seven-disc collection, Tombstone Every Mile, left off. While the previous set covered Dick Curless' career from 1948 with the Trailblazers though his solo and big hit years in 1970. Hard, Hard Traveling Man begins with his label deal for Capitol in the '70s and continues through to them dropping him in 1973. While Curless didn't score as big during those years, he still nailed a pair of Top 40 spots and recorded very powerful trucker and honky tonk anthems; the Maine native wasn't a bad ballad singer, either. A rugged traditionalist, Curless' brand of country faded by the time of the Outlaw movement, though he would have fit directly into their ranks. The big surprise here is the final disc, a collection of previously unissued sides that were demoed on acoustic guitar for the label and left in the vaults along with many alternate takes and mixes. It's a very intimate look at one of the more overlooked (and criminally so) figures in the golden era of the genre.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2000
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127161710
catalogNumber: 16171
Rank: 179559


Disc 1

  1. A Pinch O' Powder
  2. Big Wheel Cannonball
  3. I Miss a Lot of Trains
  4. Six Days on the Road
  5. A Tombstone Every Mile
  6. Carter Boys
  7. Hard, Hard Travelin' Man
  8. Long Lonesome Highway
  9. Drop Some Silver in the Jukebox
  10. Truck Stop
  11. Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
  12. Winter's Comin' on Again
  13. Golden Girl
  14. Drag 'Em off the Interstate, Sock It to 'Em, J.P. Blues
  15. Please Buy My Flowers
  16. Juke Box Man
  17. Leaving It All Behind
  18. Rocky Top
  19. Juke Box Man
  20. Watermelon Man
  21. The Lonesome Road
  22. Coastline Charlie
  23. Waiting for a Train
  24. Homing Pigeon
  25. Come Sundown
  26. Snap Your Fingers
  27. Swingin' Preacher

Disc 2

  1. Woman, Don't Try to Sing My Song
  2. I Gave up Getting over You Today
  3. Loser's Cocktail
  4. Old Ramblin' Alabama Me
  5. Sweeter Than the Honey
  6. Hot Springs
  7. Bully of the Town
  8. Darby's Castle
  9. I'll Be a Hero
  10. Wait a Little Longer
  11. Stonin' Around
  12. Lay Your Hands on Me (And Heal Me)
  13. January, April and Me
  14. Travelin' Light
  15. You've Really Got a Hold on Me
  16. China Nights (Shina No Yoru)
  17. The Best Is Yet to Come
  18. (Drinkin' Beer and) Singing a Country Song
  19. Chick Inspector (Thats Where My Money Goes)
  20. She Called Me Baby
  21. For the Life of Me
  22. Old Bob Burton
  23. The Last Blues Song
  24. Born in Country Music (Raised on Dixieland)
  25. Room Full of Roses
  26. Been There People
  27. Country Music Man
  28. Lazy Bones

Disc 3

  1. Swingin' Preacher
  2. Country Soul
  3. Get on Board My Wagon
  4. Intro
  5. Chick Inspector (That's Where My Money Goes)
  6. Intro
  7. Truck Stop
  8. Intro
  9. I've Come Awful Close
  10. Intro
  11. The Lonesome Road
  12. Intro
  13. 15 Gears and 14 Wheels
  14. Drag 'Em off the Interstate, Sock It to 'Em, J.P. Blues
  15. Big Wheel Cannonball
  16. Intro
  17. Sixty Minute Man
  18. Intro
  19. Evil Hearted Me
  20. (I'm Gonna Move to) the Outskirts of Town
  21. Interruption
  22. (I'm Gonna Move to) the Outskirts of Town
  23. Intro
  24. (Drinkin' Beer and) Singing a Country Song

Disc 4

  1. Cottage in the Pines
  2. Down by the Riverside
  3. Heart Talk
  4. My Side of the Night
  5. Then I'll Get over You
  6. Cupid's Arrow
  7. When Dad Was Around
  8. Rocky Mountain Queen
  9. So Little and Lovely
  10. Memories, an Old Picture and a Ring
  11. His Mountain
  12. Nobody
  13. Steel Rails
  14. Steel Rails
  15. In the Middle of a Tear Drop
  16. Changin' Times
  17. Remember Me (I'm the One Who Loves You)
  18. Remember Me (I'm the One Who Loves You)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dick Curless   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Jim Colvard   Guitar
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Bass
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Billy Sanford   Guitar
Joe Zinkan   Bass
Herman Wade   Guitar
Bob Moore   Bass
Jerry G. Kennedy   Guitar
William Paul Ackerman   Drums
Robert C. Thompson   Guitar
Peter Drake   Steel Guitar
Joe Allen   Bass
Harold Lee "Curly" Chalker   Steel Guitar
David Briggs   Piano

Technical Credits

Hank Davis   Liner Notes
Dick Curless   Producer
Joe Allison   Producer
Felice Bryant   Composer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
George Richey   Producer
Vaughn Horton   Producer
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Tape Research
Holger Von Bargen   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews