Hawkwind: Sonic Assassins

Hawkwind: Sonic Assassins

by Ian Abrahams

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Highly-regarded when it first appeared, in 2004, Hawkwind: Sonic Assassins relates the long and twisting history of one of the most iconic British rock bands. From founder and ever present leader Dave Brock’s early days busking the streets of London and mixing with the movers and shakers of the embryonic blues rock scene of the 1960s, through his conversion to psychedelic soundscapes and the establishment of a band that would come to define its own spacerock genre, this is the story of Hawkwind as told by the multitude of musicians who have moved through the many line-ups, adding, as Dave Brock himself would say, “their own bits and pieces.”

Rewritten, expanded and updated, this new edition of Ian Abrahams’s Hawkwind biography has been eagerly awaited by the band’s legion of fans.

"If the first edition made for compelling reading, this revised edition is essential - and must now be regarded as the definitive history of Hawkwind." Vive Le Rock

"An even-handed book... a fitting testament to this important, influential band." Shindig!

"A hugely affectionate celebration of the durability of the band ... makes for a splendid read." Record Collector

"If what you want is an in-depth representation of the space rock pioneers' career then this is what you need on your shelf" Prog

"Painstakingly thorough but never ponderous; choc full of on the road stories and behind the mixing desk anecdotes ... enjoy the trip!" Paul Roland (Marc Bolan: Cosmic Dancer; 'Werewolf of London’)

“At last a book which gets down to the minutiae. A massively useful document of an important band placed within the unfolding zeitgeist.” Andrew Keeling (Music Guides to King Crimson; ‘The Wine of Silence’; Andrew Keeling & Otherworld)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153701257
Publisher: Ian Abrahams
Publication date: 11/23/2016
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

Ian Abrahams (born 1963) is a freelance journalist and biographer. His books include 'Hawkwind - Sonic Assassins', 'Strange Boat - Mike Scott & The Waterboys' and, with Bridget Wishart, 'Festivalized: Music, Politics & The Alternative Culture'. He's written for Record Collector, R2 Rock 'N' Reel, Vive Le Rock, Shindig!, The Guardian, The Independent, Bass Guitar and others. Ian lives in Cornwall where his household includes two retired greyhounds who've never been to a muddy festival, tied on the end of a string.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews