Hawthorne's Habitations: A Literary Life

Hawthorne's Habitations: A Literary Life

by Robert Milder


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, July 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Hawthorne's Habitations: A Literary Life by Robert Milder

The first literary/biographical study of Hawthorne's full career in almost forty years, Hawthorne's Habitations presents a self-divided man and writer strongly attracted to reality for its own sake and remarkably adept at rendering it yet fearful of the nothingness he intuited at its heart.

Making extensive use of Hawthorne's notebooks and letters as well as nearly all of his important fiction, Robert Milder's superb intellectual biography distinguishes between "two Hawthornes," then maps them onto the physical and cultural locales that were formative for Hawthorne's character and work: Salem, Massachusetts, Hawthorne's ancestral home and ingrained point of reference; Concord, Massachusetts, where came into contact with Emerson, Thoreau, and Margaret Fuller and absorbed the Adamic spirit of the American Renaissance; England, where he served for five years as consul in Liverpool, incorporating an element of Englishness; and Italy, where he found himself, like Henry James's expatriate Americans, confronted by an older, denser civilization morally and culturally at variance with his own.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780199917259
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 01/21/2013
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Robert Milder, Professor of English at Washington University in St. Louis, is the author of Reimagining Thoreau and Exiled Royalties: Melville and the Life We Imagine and the coeditor of The Business of Reflection: Hawthorne in His Notebooks.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1: Two Hawthornes

Chapter 2: Telling it Slant

Chapter 3: The Wild and the Good

Chapter 4: Undoing it All

Chapter 5: Hawthorne and the Problem of New England

Chapter 6: Sisters Act

Chapter 7: In the Belly of the Beast

Chapter 8: Indian Summer

Chapter 9: A Fine Bewilderment

Chapter 10: On the Crust

Coda: Last Words


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews