Hazel's Promise (The Fey Quartet, #2)

Hazel's Promise (The Fey Quartet, #2)

by Emily Larkin

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


A lighthearted and magical tale of adventure, true love, and disguises. 

Hazel Miller gave her heart to a man who went off to earn his fortune, but he’s been gone longer than she thought he would. A lot longer.

Dressed as a boy, Hazel sets out to find her lover, but the roads of Medieval England are fraught with peril. When a ragged stranger risks his life to protect her, how can she refuse his company?

Hazel’s quest is about to get complicated—and at its end, she may discover that her true love isn’t the man she has waited ten years for.

This is Hazel’s tale.

“Her haunting prose reads like Hans Christian Andersen for twenty-first century adults.” 
~ Mindy Klasky, USA TODAY bestselling author

"A storyteller to watch!" 
~ Nalini Singh, NYT bestselling author

(Hazel's Promise is a novella of approximately 17,000 words.) 

Q & A with the author

How would you describe the Fey Quartet novellas? 

The Fey Quartet novellas are adult fairy tale romances. Each novella has a different feel to it--some are darker, some lighter. Hazel's Promise is the most lighthearted of the quartet. It's a story about a heroine dressed as a man, a hero dressed as a pauper, and the power of true love. Themes are: love at first sight, in love with a stranger, finding true love, and seeing the person beneath the disguise. 

Who would like this quartet of novellas? 

The Fey Quartet novellas are romances with strong heroines, a medieval backdrop, and a dash of magic. They will appeal to romance readers, especially those who enjoy medieval romances or fairy tale romances. Readers who like historical fantasy and fantasy with strong romantic elements would also enjoy the novellas. 

How would you describe your writing? 

I’ve had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan, Mary Balogh, and Georgette Heyer, all of which are massive compliments. An editor once said my writing reminded her of Lois McMaster Bujold, but she was rejecting me at the time, so that was more of a bittersweet compliment! (That book did sell later; it’s one of my Emily Gee fantasy novels.) 

What order should I read the Fey Quartet novellas in? 

Each novella can be read as a standalone, but I would recommend reading them in the following order for the best reading experience: 

Maythorn’s Wish 
Hazel’s Promise 
Ivy’s Choice 
Larkspur’s Quest 

The Fey Quartet novellas are the prequel to the Baleful Godmother historical romance series. The first six titles in that series are: 

Unmasking Miss Appleby 
Resisting Miss Merryweather 
Trusting Miss Trentham 
Claiming Mister Kemp 
Ruining Miss Wrotham 
Discovering Miss Dalrymple 

Happy reading! 

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153361505
Publisher: Emily Larkin
Publication date: 08/22/2016
Series: Fey Quartet , #2
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,044,346
File size: 1 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hazel's Promise 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
CarolineA More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of this book via Goodreads First Reads. At only 74 pages, I had some reservations about this novella. I often find that authors can’t develop realistic characters that the reader can understand and identify with. That was not the case with Hazel’s promise. On his way back to the isolated village in which he lives, Tam passes a young man on his way out. Upon second glance, he realizes the young man is actually a young woman in disguise. Despite longing to arrive home, he turns his cart around and follows her. The young woman is Hazel, who has just received a wish granted by the faeries. When she was just a young girl she fell hard for a nam named Drewet. He promised to come back for her, once he’d made his fortune away from their little village in Dapple Valley. But Drewet never came back. Using her faeries wish, Hazel is able to locate him and sets off to find him. This is when she meets Tam. Tam proclaims himself Hazel’s chaperone and accompanies her the rest of the way to Drewet. Along the way they get to know one another and their chemistry is hard to deny. As predicted, by the end of the book Hazel has given up on Drewet and realizes she’s fallen in love with Tam. I liked the characters in this story. Tam is kind and chivalrous. He isn’t described as being exceedingly good looking, but that doesn’t matter to Hazel because his personality shines. Meanwhile Hazel is quite pretty, at least in the eyes of Tam. She’s also headstrong and determined. When she makes a promise, she keeps it. She’s loyal to a fault and a little naive. The charming way in which this book is written, it feels like it’s aimed at a younger audience, however some of the content is definitely not. It’s by no means erotica, but there are a couple spicy scenes. In the end, this little story left me with a smile. I would gladly read the rest of this quartet. And at only 99 cents a pop, I may just do that.