Heard It All Before

Heard It All Before

by Michele Grant

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

Accustomed to living the high life in Dallas, everything Jewellen Capwell knows about the hood comes from the movies. So when she agrees to accompany her best friend, Renee Nightingale, to a Southside ball game, her only concern is keeping her cool around the peeps. She's not there to ogle guys--until she spots Roman Montgomery. When it comes to men, Jewel's heard it all before, but Rome's working from a whole new script. . .

Renee loves to fall in love. Right now, she's set her sights on landing a rock from her current main squeeze, Gregory. But to ensure no one plays her, she's always got a game going on. So when temptation comes calling in the form of a fine young man with a chiseled physique, Renee can't resist--and why should she? What Gregory doesn't know can't hurt them--or so she thinks. . .

A scorching debut. . .a pitch-perfect voice, delivering funny yet believable stories embellished with a gusto that readers who enjoy Carl Weber and Mary Monroe will relish." --Publishers Weekly

"Cleverly and creatively written. . . Highly spiced with boundless drama and hilarious moments, the reader surely will be entertained." --The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

"An exciting, sizzling page turner!" --Candice Dow

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780758242204
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 06/01/2012
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Michele Grant is a writer, lover of all things purple, and speaker of mind. Her popular blog, Black 'n Bougie (blacknbougie.com) attracts over 40,000 visits a week. The blog won the 2010 Black Weblog Award for Best Series and was named a finalist in 2011 for the categories Best Writing in a Blog, Best Series, and Blog of the Year. She was a finalist two years in a row for RT Book Review's Best Multicultural Romance. Her articles have been posted on Essence.com, UptownMagazine.com, Blackenterprise.com, and ForHarriet.com. You can find her tweeting as @OneChele, on Facebook, at MicheleGrant.net, or via email at michele@michelegrant.net.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Heard It All Before 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
LadyHawkReads More than 1 year ago
Right off the top, this was an enjoyable read. Not only is there humor and drama but some emotional moments as well. Jewellen Capwell and her friends are looking for Mr. Right but have their own ideas of what he should be. Jewel does not want a "thug" and her friend, Renee Nightingale wants someone that can afford her taste. Jewel meets Roman Montgomery and sparks fly. Problem? Rome lives in the hood. Renee finds just what she needs in Gregory Samson. Problem? Renee likes to play. Jewel meets Rome's ex, Jaquenetta and their son, Chase while Renee has her eyes on Rome's brother, Beau; these provide for some tense moments in their relationships and how these couples work on theirs make for interesting reading. When Jewel gets lost looking for Rome's house and finds herself in the wrong neighborhood, she realizes what little she really knows about her hometown of Dallas. Other characters/friends in the story help to make this an enjoyable read. I am looking forward to more from first time author, Michele Grant. Soon, I hope
DiamondLife More than 1 year ago
I was able to get my hands on an advance copy of this book and I loved it! Though the main characters Rome and Jewel are engaging, the support stories are just are fun to get to know. Jewellen is an uptown girl with her own house, car and relationship baggage, Roman is a southside boy with a son, an ex-wife and a company on the rise. They both have friends and family eager to meddle in their relationship. Jewellen's best friend Renee plots and schemes her way into a perfect relationship only to ruin in with Roman's smoking hot brother, Beau. The dialogue is snappy, the sex scenes make you sweat and the plot keeps you guessing. Miss Grant can also write humor with the est of them... when her friend Stacy tries to get married and receives a sign from God... well, you just have to read it. Go get it and tell every friend you have!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really don't write reviews about books unless the book is really good or really bad. In this case the book was BEYOND good I haven't read a book like this in a very long time! I can't wait to read about Beau and Kat ( especially Beau)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must say , this book was great!! In enjoyed it till the very end. Now , im on the 2nd book .. I'm telling you, i could not put this book down. Its an easy read, fun, sexy and it will truly make you smile.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jewel and Renee are two single sisters in Dallas. Jewel wants a date, Renee wants a marriage proposal they both find what they are looking for and so much more at a Saturday morning basketball game.This is a fun read that grips you from the first sentence and holds you through to the end. If you don't have it, get it now and buy an extra to give a friend. Excellent for book clubs too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
WOW! This book was off the chain ya'll. For this to be Grant's premiere novel, she really blew me away with this book. It is sooooo good. I'm so glad I decided to purchase this when I did because I initially had it in my hand than put it back down once I saw another novel I had been wanting but because this is a new author and the synopsis intrigiued me, I bought it anyways and I have no regrets whatsoever. I will definitely purchase the next novel from Michele Grant. Go get it folks. It's a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarkSkinn More than 1 year ago
Michele Grant knows what she is doing "Heard it All Before" was very engaging I loved all the different characters and their interactions felt like everything was transpiring right before my very own eyes.
LadySilhouette More than 1 year ago
It was an okay read, nothing to brag about. I didn't care for the writing style; the characters were not that impressive and left a lot to be desired. The "plot" was typical and not very imaginative. The "hype" of the preview description was just that "hype." The author left the door wide open for another book, good luck with that one. The general read of the book was very detailed in other parts, where other portions seemed rushed I would not recommend this book to anyone.