Heart of the Dragon: The Oracle

Heart of the Dragon: The Oracle

by Peter Man

Paperback(Canadian Softcopy ed.)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Victoria, a teenager adopted from China as a baby, lives a sheltered life in Toronto, until one day, in the blink of an eye, her whole world becomes dust in the wind. Her parents are killed in a fiery car crash. Victoria soon learns that powerful people have sent killers after her. She must evade these dangerous assassins while taking a perilous journey to China to look for her biological parents. In the course of her incredible odyssey, Victoria jumps out of a plane mid-flight without wearing a parachute, gets in a car chase on a sea-bridge in China, falling off the bridge into the sea below while trapped in the car; hangs outside the window at the top of the tallest building in China; wrestles with a hungry tiger, jumps off a high cliff, and kills three grown men with one arm.

Many of the secrets surrounding Victoria's mysterious background are encoded in China’s ancient writing known as Oracle Bone script. She wears a pendant of ancient jade pieces on which are carved oracles of the apocalypse described as 'stopping-of-the-sun.' Victoria’s amazing story is interwoven with China’s first historical queen from the Shang dynasty (circa 1200 BCE) who was also a seasoned warrior. The warrior queen's name is Fu Hao. Victoria's story describes one of Fu Hao's battles with a neighbouring tribe in Homeric detail. Fu Hao's undisturbed tomb was discovered in 1976, an eventful year for China, and a most important year for Victoria. .

Victoria is also linked to a barbarian tribe in northeastern China which came into being shortly before the Han dynasty (circa 200 BCE). Years later, these barbarians and their descendants would go south to rule large parts of China for hundreds of years. They are the Xianbei and the Khitan. While the barbarians changed China, they eventually became an integral part of China. To this day, many countries still mistakenly call China and Chinese Khitai and Khitan. The English Cathay is a derivative of Khitai. China in history suffered many foreign incursions, and large parts of the country or the entire country was for most of its history ruled by foreign tribes. But China's strength is its culture, and China always vanquishes the conquerors, not with its sword but with its word.

Victoria's story is also the story of China. The most important Chinese words that represent China, Shang, and Han are explained as never been explained before—directly from the Oracle bone script, and based on historical and archaeological facts. Victoria learns the origins of the Chinese and other ancient civilizations such as the Sumerians, ancient Egyptians, and the Indus Valley civilization. They are all related to a mythical paradise planet known as Shangala, which colonized the red giants Betelgeuse of Orion and Antares of Scorpius, the latter known in China as the Heart of the Dragon.

Victoria's story is full of myths; mysteries, science, technology, culture, and art. While the dragon represents China, Victoria's adventures are connected to another Chinese mythical creature, the Chinese unicorn, more popularly known as Qilin or Kirin. Victoria will learn that the Chinese unicorn is real. One-eyed characters seem to be everywhere, and so are secret descendants of the Shang tribe, Confucius being one of them. When they're not getting involved in Victoria's life, they would be getting involved in world events, causing dynasties to rise and fall. Victoria learns that some of these Shang descendants are hiding in plain sight in major corporations. The most inexplicable mystery is the number eleven. Almost every time numbers are mentioned, eleven shows up.

Just when Victoria seems to have overcome every difficulty and has reunited with her parents, her biggest test comes at the very end, in the way that is described in the Revelation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781999401900
Publisher: Peter Man
Publication date: 09/14/2018
Series: Saga of Shangala , #1
Edition description: Canadian Softcopy ed.
Pages: 366
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.82(d)

About the Author

Brought up in Hong Kong, at the Kowloon peninsula, the Land of Nine Dragons, and educated by a prestigious all-boys Catholic school (La Salle), the author muddled through university in Canada (McMaster), and inadvertently stumbled into the television business. He became a pioneer of Chinese language television in Canada, which means that he gave up living like a normal human being for over a decade. Circumstances took him to China during Chinese New Year of 1981, at a time when China was still pristine and penurious, but full of innocence. Return visits in 1983 and 1985 to diiferent parts of China gave the author deeper understanding of the mysterious Kingdom of the Orient. The author was in Hong Kong during 1997 around the time of the handover of the British colony back to the government of the People's Republic of China. That historic day spelled the end of the British Empire. The author decided to stay and witness first hand the Rise of the Dragon. https://heart-of-the-dragon.weebly.com

Table of Contents

Authors’s Note

Chapter 1 Everything is a Lie

Chapter 2 The Accident

Chapter 3 The Unbreakable China Doll

Chapter 4 Riddle me This

Chapter 5 Sub Rosa

Chapter 6 The Weird Sisters

Chapter 7 Room 929

Chapter 8 Sign of the Scorpion

Chapter 9 Dragon Heart

Chapter 10 Flight of Fancy

Chapter 11 Freefall

Chapter 12 Running on Empty

Chapter 13 The Warrior Queen

Chapter 14 The Dialectic

Chapter 15 Dante’s Gate

Chapter 16 Paradise of Shangala

Chapter 17 Golden Lies

Chapter 18 Tevye’s Conundrum

Chapter 19 The Watchers Cometh

Chapter 20 #1 Corn Gas

Chapter 21 The Unicorn Rings

Chapter 22 The Oracle

Chapter 23 The One-eyed Monster

Chapter 24 Apocrypha of Didymas

Chapter 25 The Odyssey

Chapter 26 Blessed are the Meek

Chapter 27 The Oblique Order

Chapter 28 Twilight of the Gotts

Chapter 29 Children of the Flower

Chapter 30 Book of Secrets

Chapter 31 Story of the Stone

Chapter 32 The One-eyed Slave

Chapter 33 Gathering Clouds

Chapter 34 Year of the Dragon

Chapter 35 Rare Treasures

Chapter 36 Stone Man with One Eye

Chapter 37 Blowback

Chapter 38 The Pledge

Chapter 39 Revelation

Chapter 40 The Quest

Chapter 41 War of the Twins

Chapter 42 Belly of the Dragon

Chapter 43 Genesis

Chapter 44 Rise of the Nephilim

Chapter 45 Brobdingnagian China

Chapter 46 Doing a Hudsucker

Chapter 47 Next Stop, Tianzifang

Chapter 48 Paradise Lost

Chapter 49 Dangal with Tiger

Chapter 50 The Pianist from Gamma Crucis

Chapter 51 The Awakening

Chapter 52 The One-Eyed Fable-Monger

Chapter 53 The Dragon’s Dream

Chapter 54 The Long March

Chapter 55 Invictus

Chapter 56 Quantum Leap

Chapter 57 The Name of the Flower

Chapter 58 Grand Unification

Chapter 59 Jack in the Box

Chapter 60 Apocalypse

Image Licenses and Acknowledgment

Customer Reviews