Heaven in This Hell

Heaven in This Hell

by Orianthi


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.


Heaven in This Hell

Orianthi's third studio album, 2013's Heaven in This Hell, finds the virtuoso guitarist and singer moving away from the melodic pop
ock of 2009's Believe and toward a more adult contemporary and modern blues-rock sound. Working with producer and Eurythmics co-founder Dave Stewart, Orianthi co-wrote all of the songs on Heaven in This Hell. Whereas last time, tracks like, "According to You" and "Bad News" brought to mind a harder rocking take on "Since You've Been Gone"-era Kelly Clarkson, here, cuts like the swampy blues of "Fire" and the Jimi Hendrix-esque "Frozen" play up more of Orianthi's strength as ballsy, guitar slinging rock chick. The closest Heaven in This Hell gets to Believe is on the infectious and anthemic "If U Think U Know Me," which sounds more Melissa Etheridge -- a comparison that would most likely appeal to Orianthi, based on the material she's showcasing here. Elsewhere, tracks like the soulful ballad "How Do You Sleep?" and the funky, R&B-inflected slow jam "How Does It Feel?" also showcase Orianthi's growth as a vocalist. This is a more gritty, less pop-oriented album than anything Orianthi has done before, and in that sense, it may appeal to an older, more rock-oriented audience.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2013
Label: Waterfront Records
UPC: 0887158220883
catalogNumber: 2012

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Orianthi   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Foot Stomping,Guitar (Nylon String)
Jimmy Z.   Harmonica
Chad Cromwell   Drums
Dan Dugmore   Lap Steel Guitar
Wendy Moten   Background Vocals
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Mike Rojas   Piano
Dave Stewart   Rhythm Guitar
Tom Bukovac   Guitar
Rob Christie   Piano
Shannon Forest   Drums
Drea Rhenee   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Kevin Griffin   Composer
Dave Stewart   Composer,Producer
John Feldmann   Composer
Bobby Huff   Composer
Zac Maloy   Composer
Blair Daly   Composer
Ned Douglas   Engineer
Dale Voelker   Art Direction
Gavin Brown   Composer
Brian Chiusano   Composer
Orianthi   Composer
Clint Lagerberg   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews