×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hector and the Search for Lost Time: A Novel
     

Hector and the Search for Lost Time: A Novel

by Francois Lelord
 

See All Formats & Editions

The delightful third book in the multimillion-copy internationally bestselling series

Being up against the clock was a real problem for so many people, thought Hector. What could he possibly do to help them?

First he tackled happiness. Then he took on love. And now Hector, our endearing young French psychiatrist, confronts the

Overview

The delightful third book in the multimillion-copy internationally bestselling series

Being up against the clock was a real problem for so many people, thought Hector. What could he possibly do to help them?

First he tackled happiness. Then he took on love. And now Hector, our endearing young French psychiatrist, confronts the persistent march of time.

His patients lament that there is not enough time in the day. Or they feel that life is passing them by. And in one case, a young boy turns the problem on its head: He's impatient to grow up! Hector himself is increasingly aware of time: He doesn't feel quite so young anymore, and the clock is ticking on his relationship with his beloved Clara.

So as time flies, so does our wise and winsome hero in his latest adventure, traveling around the world to understand the past, the future, and how best to enjoy the present.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Acclaim for Hector and the Search for Happiness:

“Utterly charming . . . Fans of Eat, Pray, Love and The Elegance of the Hedgehog won’t want to miss this gem of a book.” —BookPage

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101587416
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/31/2012
Series:
Hector's Journeys
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
240
File size:
673 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
Acclaim for Hector and the Search for Happiness:

“Utterly charming . . . Fans of Eat, Pray, Love and The Elegance of the Hedgehog won’t want to miss this gem of a book.” —BookPage

Meet the Author

François Lelord has had a successful career as a psychiatrist in France, where he was born, and in the United States, where he did his postdoc (UCLA). He is the co-author of a number of bestselling self-help books and has consulted for companies interested in reducing stress for their employees. He was on a trip to Hong Kong, questioning his personal and professional life, when the Hector character popped into his mind, and he wrote Hector and the Search for Happiness not quite knowing what kind of book he was writing. The huge success of Hector, first in France, then in Germany and other countries, led him to spend more time writing and traveling, and at the height of the SARS epidemic he found himself in Vietnam, where he practiced psychiatry for a French NGO whose profits go toward heart surgery for poor Vietnamese children. While in Vietnam he also met his future wife, Phuong; today they live in Thailand.

François Lelord’s series of novels about Hector’s journeys includes Hector and the Search for Happiness, Hector and the Secrets of Love, and Hector and the Search for Lost Time.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews