Hellhole

Hellhole

by Brian Herbert
3.8 55

Paperback

$18.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Usually ships within 3 days

Overview

Hellhole by Brian Herbert

Asolado por erupciones volcánicas, devastadoras tormentas y el impacto de un asteroide, Hellhole es un vertedero al que van a parar indeseables, inadaptados y charlatanes. Sin embargo, su ubicación en la frontera inexplorada de la Constelación lo convierte en el refugio definitivo para todos aquellos que huyen del yugo de la Diadema Michella Duchenet, una tirana de rostro adorable y corazón sombrío.

El general Adolfo, el cabecilla militar exiliado en el planeta, está decidido a convertir Hellhole en una tierra de oportunidades, por ello forja alianzas secretas con los líderes de otros planetas de la Zona Profunda.

Sin embargo, lo que nadie sabe es que Hellhole esconde un secreto de una envergadura histórica. Bajo la superficie del planeta se conservan los restos de una civilización alienígena extinguida, que ofrecen una información pormenorizada de un pasado del que no queda constancia y que, en el caso de que saliera a la luz, podría aniquilar a la frágil civilización humana.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781849830300
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date: 08/28/2011
Series: Hell Hole Trilogy Series , #1
Pages: 544
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

BRIAN HERBERT has been nominated for both the Hugo and the Nebula Awards. In 2003, he published Dreamer of Dune, a Hugo Award–nominated biography of his father.

KEVIN J. ANDERSON has been nominated for the Nebula Award, the Bram Stoker Award, and the SFX Reader's Choice Award. He set the Guinness-certified world record for the largest single-author book signing.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hellhole 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Gnomicron More than 1 year ago
I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from one of the authors, Kevin J. Anderson. I was looking forward to exploring a new universe created by him and Mr. Herbert. For the first part of the book, nothing really stood out for me. After a couple of characters discovered the remains of an ancient alien race, the book picked up quite well. The pace moved along well. One chapter would end on a cliffhanger of some sort and in most cases, I couldn't wait until the focus came around on that character again. Some characters were developed better than others, though. I really didn't find myself too interested in the main character, General Adolphus all that much. Hopefully, he'll be more rounded in the next couple of books. Comparisons to Herbert and Anderson's Dune novels and Anderson's own Saga of Seven Suns aside, this is the start of a series that should be enjoyable to all who love science fiction.
shannonpreto More than 1 year ago
I just finished an advance copy of Hellhole by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. My first statement is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. From start to finish I found it to be "edge of my seat" engrossing. There were many times where one chapter ends on a cliff hanger, and I found that I had to restrict myself to not skip ahead to find out what happens to that one story line. But in slowing down my desire, I was able to appreciate the many different plot elements being attended to and how the separate story lines contributed to the greater narration of the overarching "story." Patience is a virtue in reading and acquiring the details of each character, their relationships amongst the many characters and the development of the culminating denouement. Here's how I know I like a writer, or in this case writers. For me, when I recall not only the plot action, but also the description of the people and places surrounding the activity vividly, that's when I know a writer has touched me as a reader. What is most satisfying occurs at the end of Hellhole is when all the different plots and subplots merge into the same "intersection" (as I'll call it). It is at this intersection that the different threads are clearly tied into one side or the other of book's "conflict." I find this type of cliffhanger to be fresh and inventive. I would recommend this book to both new to KJA/BH readers and veteran readers. I think that Hellhole is a great introduction to the combined writing styles of BH and KJA. I especially encourage "new-to-them" readers, because a new reader might not be put off by the immense and rich backstory that these authors tackled and are tackling with the Dune universe. With Hellhole, a new reader can begin with a fresh story line in an fresh and well fleshed out "universe." I would also recommend the premiere of this new trilogy for fans of BH and KJA as it shows how well their writing styles work together. BH and KJA have worked wonders to create a thrilling and copiously tethered story line that I believe will surely keep my interest for two more books.
Repeat_BandN_Customer More than 1 year ago
This book does not earn the lavish praise that appears on the cover and elsewhere, although it could have. The plot has a clever angle with promise, but the characterization is extremely shallow and cartoon-like. Furthermore the authors frequently display a poor technique in some aspects of story telling: instead of creating and inserting anecdotal situations to reveal character or story details, they write a description or an explanation, put it into parentheses, and just stick it in there. It looks like someone performing a theatrical aside, saying a line to the audience behind the back side of his hand. My reaction in one such instance was, "Don't tell me this, that the General's men are extraordinarily loyal, show me." To me this book read more like a set up for a movie than like a good, solid, science fiction novel. On the bright side, the story has promise for a good epic series if the authors will work their craft more rigorously. They also need to get better support from the people who read the draft because the shortcomings are obvious and should have been fixed before the final.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lot of wasted filler
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the planet, the characters, and the plot. Can't wait for the next two books. I keep checking but don't have a clue as to when they will be published.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blah. Weak. As bad as the worst Dune sequels.
Cypherbos More than 1 year ago
Loved every page! Fans of Dune must try this! The characters are great and the new worlds are fantastic. Oh and there are even some aliens! :)
harstan More than 1 year ago
From the frontier aptly titled planet Hellhole, exiled rebel General Tiber Adolphus remains adamant with his opposition to the avarice plots of the Crown Jewel worlds and Diadem Michella Duchenet. He and his cohorts know what they must do if they are to overcome the powerful elite, but to achieve it seems out of reach especially from the nightmarish orb they hide on. His side must find a means to end the royal space travel monopoly. Once that is achieved, they can go onto the next step which is to forge an alliance of Deep Zone planets. On Sonjeera far from the Deep Zone frontier planets, Diadem Michella has issues with the ancient noble families. At the same time her preoccupation means she and her advisors fail to notice Adolphus is implementing plans that could shake the royal stranglehold on space travel and beyond that much more. . This outer space science fiction thriller pays homage to Dune with the Hellhole environ, but takes its own overall entertaining spin in spite of none of the key cast breaking out of stereotypical roles. The story line is filled with action although the ending is a disappointment as that resolves nothing except set the stage for the next saga. Still fans of Dune will enjoy this epic offspring space opera. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is well written, has a great plot, and has rich characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Herbert and Anderson have created a believeable universe with equally believeable characters. This series promises to be as good and as readable as their Dune prequel series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A decent story line dragged out to the point of boredom.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago