Hellraisers: The Life and Inebriated Times of Richard Burton, Richard Harris, Peter O'Toole, and Oliver Reed

Hellraisers: The Life and Inebriated Times of Richard Burton, Richard Harris, Peter O'Toole, and Oliver Reed

by Robert Sellers
3.3 10

Hardcover

$16.97 $25.99 Save 35% Current price is $16.97, Original price is $25.99. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hellraisers: The Life and Inebriated Times of Richard Burton, Richard Harris, Peter O'Toole, and Oliver Reed 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
kila_squid More than 1 year ago
I heard about this book on NPR and was intrigued. While I am a fan of the actors featured, my interest in the book had less to do with them and more to do with their lifestyle, which is a good thing. The book is a bit of a biography, but mostly it is a tale of drunkeness and debauchery...my favorite topics. It is a quick read. I think I read it in a day, but I find myself re-reading passages of it. When your life has turned into an endless array of PTO meetings, soccer games and other suburban banalities, turn to Hellraisers and pour yourself a gin and tonic. I was surprised by how much I actually came to like the four actors featured (O'toole, Harris, Burton and Reed)..but I wouldn't want to be married to them.
SongSanDiego More than 1 year ago
I love to read about lives with passion, craziness, overindulgence and whatnots. If you are one of those who can't understand drinking, smoking and taking mind-altering drugs and consider them sins, you should not pick up this book. Many of the episodes in this book kept me laughing at night, some made me cringe, some made me to put down the book and think. Since these actors represent the big part of British/American film history, you will also find this book most entertaining.
jbowie21 More than 1 year ago
I found this book very absorbing and interesting. Mr. Sellers fills the book with plenty of background and tons of interesting stories and behind the scenes tidbits. I understand the focus of this book was on the "hell raising" of these talented men, however I do wish these exploits weren't always treated with such a light hand. Each of these men could have been the focus of a tragic tale as well and by playing off nearly all of their substance abuse issues with humorous stories or in a humorous manner does not, in fact, portray the whole story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and a quick read. I was amazed that these men lived as long as they did! In the end, I came to admire the life they chose but only because they were honest about what they wanted. They did what they pleased but I couldn't have married any one of them. The biggest surprise is the turn around in O'Toole's life, and he is the only survivor of the group. Highly recommended for fans of Burton, Harris, O'Toole and Reed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of these four and found nothing new here. The author used the word pissed about a million times. The book was erratic, jumping around. The author just glosses over stories. I cannot believe a publisher reviewed this mess before going to print. No pictures anywhere in the book. You will need a drink to get through this mess. IT COULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH MORE....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A perfect example of drunken excess and self destruction at its finest
E-Reads More than 1 year ago
In contrast to the idea that just because someone consumes seemingly endless quantities of alcohol resulting in various forms of crazy behavior, that person should stop drinking, I liked the author's relative objectivity regarding the drinkers he writes about in this book. However, I wish he would have gone beyond describing a series of happenings to some famous guys who drank, drank, drank. The subject offers many layers for consideration but, for the most part, this book read like one long introductory paragraph after another. I wish he would have crafted a creative thinkpiece by weaving a better connecting thread through it all and taken a risk with some kind of statement. Otherwise, what's the point?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago