A Henry James Chronology

A Henry James Chronology

by E. Harden


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 15


This new volume in the Author Chronology series offers an intense articulation of Henry James's biographical experiences, which are presented amid the detailed unfolding of his imaginative writing, and set in the larger context of historical developments that impinged upon his life. Evoking the wide range of his experiences with other human beings, his manifold studies of fellow artists in various fields, and his critical articulation of the art of writing fiction, this study reveals his major influence upon subsequent writers and students of fiction.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781403942296
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan UK
Publication date: 11/30/2004
Series: Author Chronologies Series
Edition description: 2005
Pages: 235
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.03(d)

About the Author

EDGAR F. HARDEN received the AB degree from Princeton University and the AM and PhD degrees from Harvard University. Since 1966 he has taught at Simon Fraser University, where he is Emeritus Professor of English. He has published on Browning, Trollope and especially Thackeray in journals that include Victorian Poetry; PMLA; Nineteenth-Century Fiction; Journal of English and German Philology; Huntington Library Quarterly; Studies in English Literature 1500-1900; and Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America. He is also the author of The Emergence of Thackeray's Serial Fiction; Thackeray's 'English Humourists' and 'Four Georges'; and 'Vanity Fair': A Novel Without a Hero - A Reader's Companion; and he has edited Thackeray's Henry Esmond; Annotations for the Selected Works of William Makepeace Thackeray: A Supplement; A Checklist of Contributions by William Makepeace Thackeray to Newspapers, Periodicals, Books and Serial Part Issues, 1828-1864; Selected Letters of William Makepeace Thackeray; Thackeray the Writer: From Journalism to 'Vanity Fair'; and Thackeray the Writer: From 'Pendennis' to 'Denis Duval'. His last book was A William Makepeace Thackeray Chronology (Palgrave Macmillan, 2003).

Table of Contents

General Editor's Preface Acknowledgements List of Abbreviations Introduction Ancestry and Family Chronology A James Who's Who Bibliography Index

Customer Reviews