Henry Poole Is Here [Soundtrack]

Henry Poole Is Here [Soundtrack]


$16.72 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Henry Poole Is Here [Soundtrack]

Faith and doubt, hope and despair, miracles and disappointments, these are the themes of Mark Pellington's film Henry Poole Is Here, and they are the themes considered in this various-artists soundtrack album full of folk
ock singer/songwriter music. In song after song, an arrangement is built around a strummed acoustic guitar and a wheezy tenor voice singing a lyric that treats the issues the movie engages. "You can be anyone," the singer in Hellen Stellar declares in "10 (This Time Around)." "Why can't you take a chance?," asks Zach Broocke in "Why Can't You." Such performers are typical of the relatively obscure artist list, the best-known names from which probably are Eels, the Bravery (whose selection, appropriately, is "Believe"), and Badly Drawn Boy. Actually, the songwriters are generally better known than the performers. Joshua Radin turns in a cover of Yazoo's "Only You"; John Linton sings Ben Harper's "Morning Yearning"; Jack the Bear interprets the Verve's "Lucky Man"; and Michael Dickes appropriates the Bruce Springsteen rarity "Devil's Arcade." But no matter the names involved, the mood and the sound remain the same throughout, as one midtempo song after another finds a singer gruffly embracing optimism in what seem to be generally pessimistic circumstances.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/02/2008
Label: Lakeshore Records
UPC: 0780163400724
catalogNumber: 34007
Rank: 127028

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Badly Drawn Boy   Track Performer
Michael Dickes   Track Performer
Zach Broocke   Track Performer
Brandon Heath   Track Performer
Joshua Radin   Track Performer
Ron Irizarry   Track Performer
John Linton   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Bruce Springsteen   Composer
Vince Clarke   Composer
Alex Stewart   Engineer
Dudley Taft   Producer
Sam Endicott   Composer
Badly Drawn Boy   Composer
Skip Williamson   Audio Production,Executive Soundtrack Producer
James Grundler   Composer
Gregory Butler   Producer,String Arrangements
Zach Broocke   Composer
Mark Oliver Everett   Composer
Brian McNelis   Executive Producer,Audio Production
Brandon Heath   Composer
Stephanie Mente   Art Direction
Ron Irizarry   Composer
Jim Evens   Composer
Joel Wild   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews