The Hidden City (House War Series #1)

The Hidden City (House War Series #1)

by Michelle West

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

In this epic fantasy series for fans of George R. R. Martin and Robin Hobb, Jewel Markess must contend with deadly court politics, and visions of looming magical threats.

Orphaned and left to fend for herself in the slums of Averalaan, Jewel Markess—Jay to her friends—meets an unlikely savior in Rath, a man who prowls the ruins of the undercity. Nursing Jay back to health is an unusual act for a man who renounced his own family long ago, and the situation becomes stranger still when Jay begins to form a den of other rescued children in Rath's home. But worse perils lurk beneath the slums: the demons that once nearly destroyed the Essalieyan Empire are stirring again, and soon Rath and Jay will find themselves targets of these unstoppable beings.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781440688379
Publisher: DAW
Publication date: 03/03/2009
Series: House War , #1
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 768
Sales rank: 31,171
File size: 881 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Michelle West is the author of three interconnected series: The Sacred Hunt duology, the six-volume Sun Sword series, and The House War novels. She has published numerous short stories and fantasy novels under her maiden name, Michelle Sagara. She was a two-time nominee for the Campbell Award. She works part-time at BAKKA Books, one of Toronto’s larger bookstores, and writes a column for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. She can be contacted via her website, michellesagara.com or on Twitter at @msagara.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Hidden City (House War Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For everyone who's been waiting for Jewel's return, you won't be disappointed. At first I wasn't sure what I thought about the fact that this book went all the way back to the beginning of the den, instead of starting off where we last saw Jewel, but as soon as I picked it up I couldn't put it down. It's great to see how the den came together, to learn about things hinted at in previous books. Sigurne and Merlonne are both in the book, it's amazing how Michelle West has gone back into the past with these characters, just wait until you hear Sigurne tell about her past...just too wonderful. This is story telling at its finest. Oh and we get to finally meet Duster.After reading this book I am so glad Michelle West did go all the way back to the start of the den. I cannot even begin to say how great this book is.
RalphW More than 1 year ago
This is a well written prequel to Michelle's Sun Sword series of.books. A must read along with this!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Although Rath considers himself a businessman, most people classify him as a scavenger of antiques in the undercity he sells his finds to dealers who have clients desiring objects from before the Blood Wars. A reclusive loner who believes he needs no one, not even his family he helps a homeless sick child Jewel by taking her into his abode and nursing her back to health. She informs him that when he goes out tonight to sell artifacts, he will be followed. Forewarned, he spots the hunters and spends hours trying to allude them. In the days that follow, Jewel finds orphans whom she sees in her visions and brings them to Rath¿s home. Much to his surprise he allows them to stay. When invisible beings follow Rath, he uses magically constructed weapons to transmit them back to Hell because they are demons disguised as men. Further circumstances lead Rath and Jewel to believe that the demons have a plan for the empire and that they have roles in the upcoming conflict --- This is a fantastic epic fantasy filled with intrigue and mystery that fans of Kate Elliot will appreciate. Michelle West has created a vivid world that readers will believe exists with them in it. Rath and Jewel are fully developed characters who have a form of PTSD as each has suffered trauma and pain. Together they make a formidable force ready to oppose the demonization of the empire. --- Harriet Klausner
lkomery More than 1 year ago
It was very nice to read the prequel. It didn't grip me as much as some of her other books, but it was still a good read.
ranaverde on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Truly excellent - the characters are complex and believable, and the plot unfolds in compelling and logical but unpredictable ways. There is definitely enough meat here to sustain several more books; I will have to keep my eyes open for further books in the series.
BellaMiaow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love love love this book. If you haven't read anything else in this universe, you'll be just fine. I've read all the previous books, and plan to go back and re-read them as soon as this bit (duology? triloy? I don't know West's plans) is done.The only thing that kept it from five stars was the repetitive nature of some characters' internal dialogues. I got the point right away, but I suppose some readers might need more. I don't know that anyone needs to be hit over the head with Rath, Jewel, and Duster's issues, though.In any case, while huge, the book is well worth reading, and I am eager to read whatever comes next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome story from one of my favorite authors!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't read this whole series in a row. There is another series in the same world that starts in the middle of these 6 books. Read the first two in this series then read the broken crown series, then come back to the third in this series. Google them if your confused. I found the correct timeline on some fantasy website.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doesn't have the lovely cover like the others in the series, so it looks like a pirate copy. Barnes & Noble should fix this! >:( I dislike my legal, purchased copy looking like it was stolen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, first reading any of West's work. I felt like I was getting wrapped up in the story as i read.
Shade0 More than 1 year ago
Excellent new series, that explores Jewel's childhood.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ElizabethT More than 1 year ago
Great Read! Book one in the Series.