Hillbilly Hero [4 CD Set]

Hillbilly Hero [4 CD Set]

by Hank Williams


$28.49 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.49, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Hillbilly Hero [4 CD Set]

This magnificent four-disc box is easily the best budget collection of Hank Williams' music ever assembled. Three discs are devoted to studio recordings compiled in chronological order; disc four covers six installments of the Health & Happiness Show. Fans who own only 40 Greatest Hits or a similar collection will be pleased at the scope of this box, which features not only hit singles but early demos, Luke the Drifter sides, gospel tunes, and a handful of the duets Williams recorded with his wife, Audrey. The catch is that it explores only the first seven years of Williams' recording career, which means that nothing he released after 1951 is included. That's a pity, but even so, this set is wonderful, featuring a 50-page booklet complete with a biography, photographs, and detailed song notes. Short of buying The Complete Hank Williams, there's no better way to explore the full scope of Williams' art.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/08/2002
Label: Proper Box Uk
UPC: 0805520020398
catalogNumber: 39
Rank: 49794


Disc 1

  1. Calling You
  2. Never Again (Will I Knock on Your Door)
  3. Wealth Won't Save Your Soul
  4. When God Comes and Gathers His Jewels
  5. My Love for You (Has Turned to Hate)
  6. I Don't Care (If Tomorrow Never Comes)
  7. Honky Tonkin'
  8. Pan American
  9. Move It on Over
  10. I Saw the Light
  11. (Last Night) I Heard You Crying in Your Sleep
  12. Six More Miles (To the Graveyard)
  13. Fly Trouble
  14. On the Banks of the Old Pontchartrain
  15. Rootie Tootie
  16. I Can't Get You off of My Mind
  17. I'm a Long Gone Daddy
  18. Honky Tonkin'
  19. My Sweet Love Ain't Around
  20. The Blues Come Around
  21. A Mansion on the Hill
  22. I'll Be a Bachelor 'Til I Die
  23. Lost on the River
  24. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
  25. I Heard My Mother Praying for Me
  26. Lovesick Blues

Disc 2

  1. Lost Highway
  2. May You Never Be Alone
  3. Dear Brother
  4. Jesus Remembered Me
  5. Mind Your Own Business
  6. You're Gonna Change (Or I'm Gonna Leave)
  7. Wedding Bells
  8. I've Just Told Mama Goodbye
  9. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  10. A House Without Love
  11. I Just Don't Like This Kind of Livin'
  12. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
  13. Long Gone Lonesome Blues
  14. Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used to Do)?
  15. Why Should We Try Anymore
  16. My Son Calls Another Man Daddy
  17. Too Many Parties Too Many Pals
  18. Beyond the Sunset
  19. The Funeral
  20. Everything's Okay
  21. They'll Never Take Her Love from Me
  22. Nobody's Lonesome for Me
  23. Moanin' the Blues
  24. Help Me Understand
  25. No, No Joe
  26. Cold, Cold Heart

Disc 3

  1. Dear John
  2. Just Waitin'
  3. Men With Broken Hearts
  4. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)
  5. Howlin' at the Moon
  6. Hey, Good Lookin'
  7. My Heart Would Know
  8. Ramblin' Man
  9. Picture from Life's Other Side
  10. I've Been Down That Road Before
  11. I Dreamed About Mama Last Night
  12. I'd Still Want You
  13. (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
  14. Crazy Heart
  15. Half as Much
  16. Baby We're Really in Love
  17. I'm Sorry for You, My Friend
  18. Honky Tonk Blues
  19. Won't You Sometimes Think of Me
  20. Why Should I Cry
  21. You Broke Your Own Heart
  22. I Watched My Dream World Crumble Like Clay
  23. In My Dreams You Still Belong to Me
  24. I Told a Lie to My Heart
  25. Singing Waterfall
  26. Pan American
  27. I'm Going Home
  28. A Home in Heaven

Disc 4

  1. Happy Rovin' Cowboy/Mind Your Own Business/Wedding Bells/Cotton ...
  2. Happy Rovin' Cowboy/I Can't Get You Off of My Mind/I'm So Lonesome ...
  3. Happy Rovin' Cowboy/Mansion on the Hill/There'll Be No More ...
  4. Happy Rovin' Cowboy/Pan American/Lovesick Blues/Arkansas Traveller (In)
  5. Happy Rovin' Cowboy/I'm a Long Gone Daddy/I'm Telling You/Bill Cheatam
  6. Happy Rovin' Cowboy/Lost Highway/I Wanna Live and Love Always/Bile ...

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hank Williams   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Chet Atkins   Electric Guitar
Zeb Turner   Electric Guitar
Don Helms   Steel Guitar
Charles Wright   Bass
Harold Bradley   Rhythm Guitar
Owen Bradley   Organ,Piano
Hillous Butrum   Bass
Don Davis   Steel Guitar
Eddie Hill   Rhythm Guitar
Tommy Jackson   Fiddle,Drums
Bob McNett   Electric Guitar
Ernie Newton   Bass
Cedric Rainwater   Bass
Jerry Rivers   Fiddle
Fred Rose   Organ,Piano
Bobo "Slim" Thomas   Rhythm Guitar
Farris Coursey   Drums
Dale Potter   Fiddle,Guitar,Vocals
Jack Shook   Rhythm Guitar
Lum York   Bass
Willie Thawl   Bass
Zeke Turner   Electric Guitar
Charles "Skeeter" Willis   Fiddle
James "Guy" Willis   Guitar
Louis Innis   Bass,Rhythm Guitar
Otha Dale Lohman   Steel Guitar
Velma Williams   Bass
Clyde Baum   Mandolin
Rusty Gabbard   Rhythm Guitar
Vic Willis   Accordion
Jerry Byrd & the String Dusters   Steel Guitar
Aubrey Williams   Vocals
L.C. Crystal   Fiddle
Herman Herron   Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Grady Martin   Contributor
Minnie Pearl   Contributor
Jerry Rivers   Contributor
Howard Watts   Contributor
Rollin Sullivan   Contributor
Adam Komorowski   Liner Notes
Bill Drake   Contributor
Billie Jean   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews