Pub. Date:
Hippie Chick: Coming of Age in the '60s

Hippie Chick: Coming of Age in the '60s

by Ilene English MA, MFT


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


In Hippie Chick, a rebellious teenager finds her mother dead in the bathroom. To save her from living alone with a difficult father, her older sister sends her a one-way plane ticket to leave New Jersey. Landing in San Francisco, she is thrust into a lifestyle way beyond what she is ready for, and that challenges all previous notions of how one behaves. It is 1963, and we are brought along as Ilene becomes immersed in the unfolding of the sixties during the earliest days of sexual freedom, psychedelic drugs, the jazz scene, and rock ’n’ roll. This is a deeply personal story of how one young woman manages to survive and even to thrive in the face of the whirlwind of experiences coming at her. It is filled with a rich tapestry of moments that run the gamut from the sublime to the ridiculous, and everything in between.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631525865
Publisher: She Writes Press
Publication date: 09/24/2019
Pages: 344
Sales rank: 268,630
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Born in New Jersey as the youngest of six to a mother who was seriously ill, Ilene English became something of a lost child. In spite of this, she was a free spirit, her life fueled by an innate sense of optimism and determination. As a young woman, she became an early psychedelic pioneer, experimenting with LSD during a time when it was still legal and its effects were not yet fully comprehended. During the sixties, she, along with an entire community of fellow trippers, innocently thought that they could change the world into one that valued love over materialism through psychedelics. Today, years later, English is a licensed psychotherapist. Her life experience informs her work as a healer and a teacher. Hippie Chick is her first book.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 A Gift from the Universe 11

Chapter 2 New Jersey 18

Chapter 3 Leaving Home 32

Chapter 4 Carole and Glickman 39

Chapter 5 Haight-Ashbury, 1963 46

Chapter 6 Abortion, 1964 53

Chapter 7 Birgit 60

Chapter 8 Epiphany 71

Chapter 9 Dr. Amini 76

Chapter 10 Earl 91

Chapter 11 Hawaii 102

Chapter 12 Carole, 1966 118

Chapter 13 Still Tripping 128

Chapter 14 Jessie and Janis 134

Chapter 15 Larry 140

Chapter 16 Maui 148

Chapter 17 Message from the Universe 158

Chapter 18 Monday Night Class 170

Chapter 19 The Caravan 178

Chapter 20 Volcano 183

Chapter 21 The Farm 195

Chapter 22 Eugene, 1972 204

Chapter 23 Sarah Grace 227

Chapter 24 Professors Wife to Welfare Mother 241

Chapter 25 The Class 255

Chapter 26 Custody Threat 269

Chapter 27 Saturday Market, 1980 281

Chapter 28 Oregon Country Fair 294

Chapter 29 Paul 301

Epilogue 319

Key Places and People, Years Later 323

Acknowledgements 337

About the Author 341

Customer Reviews