His Reckless Bargain (Rakes & Rebels: The Raveneau Family, Book 5)

His Reckless Bargain (Rakes & Rebels: The Raveneau Family, Book 5)

by Cynthia Wright
4.4 22

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

His Reckless Bargain (Rakes & Rebels: The Raveneau Family, Book 5) by Cynthia Wright

WINNER OF RT BOOK REVIEWS' Award for BEST BRITISH ISLES HISTORICAL ROMANCE!
~ Nathan Raveneau, known in Regency London as "The Scapegrace", is also a sea captain with an estate on Barbados. To gain land near his island enemy, Xavier Crowe, Raveneau agrees to act as protector to headstrong Adrienne Beauvisage - and keep her chaste until her 21st birthday.

Adrienne is both outraged and intrigued by the man who calls himself Nathan Essex. She knows little of the threats that lurk at the English castle of eccentric Lady Thomasina Harms... or of the daring that Raveneau, in his guise as Nathan Essex, must employ to keep her out of harm's way.

As the powerful attraction between them builds, Nathan is forced to abduct an unwilling Adrienne, boldly spiriting her away to his ship. In a rousing adventure that carries them from Regency England across the sea to magical Barbados, Nathan and Adrienne struggle against a compelling and passionate love while caught in a growing web of danger.

Don't miss this enchanting novel that unites the Raveneau and Beauvisage families!

Rakes & Rebels: The Raveneau Family series:
1 - SILVER STORM (André & Devon)
2 - SMUGGLER'S MOON (Sebastian & Julia)
3 - THE SECRET OF LOVE (Gabriel & Isabella)
4 - SURRENDER THE STARS (Ryan & Lindsay)
~ coming in August, 2017 ~ HIS MAKE-BELIEVE BRIDE (Justin & Mouette)
5 - HIS RECKLESS BARGAIN (Nathan & Adrienne)
6 - TEMPEST (Adam & Cathy)

Rakes & Rebels: The Raveneau Family intertwines with Rakes & Rebels: The Beauvisage Family series:
1 - HEART OF FRAGILE STARS: a prequel novella to CAROLINE (Jean-Philippe & Antonia)
2 - CAROLINE (Alec & Caro)
3 - TOUCH THE SUN (Lion & Meagan)
4 - SPRING FIRES (Nicholai & Lisette)
5 - HER DANGEROUS VISCOUNT (Grey & Natalya)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013093102
Publisher: Boxwood Manor Books
Publication date: 09/02/2011
Series: Rakes & Rebels: The Raveneau Family , #5
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 120,182
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Cynthia Wright is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the two Rakes & Rebels series, 11 intertwining historical romances starring the irresistible Raveneau & Beauvisage families. She has also written beloved series set during the Renaissance and in the American West. Romantic Times Magazine hails Cynthia's novels as "Romance the way it was meant to be."

Cynthia’s newest novel is THE SECRET OF LOVE, set in 1808 Cornwall and France. Lady Isabella Trevarre and Gabriel St. Briac join forces (and stir passions) while searching for a priceless Leonardo da Vinci painting stolen by Napoleon's henchmen. THE SECRET OF LOVE will be published in December, 2016.

Currently, Cynthia is at work on the story of Mouette Raveneau and Justin St. Briac, her first “older” couple, who come to their tempestuous relationship with plenty of baggage, defenses, and hidden longings. HIS MAKE-BELIEVE BRIDE will be published in the summer of 2017.

Cynthia lives in northern California. She enjoys riding a tandem bike and taking road trips in an airstream trailer with her Colombian-born husband, Alvaro & their corgi, Watson. She is also devoted to her two adorable grandsons who live nearby.

You are invited to visit Cynthia’s website (where you can sign up for her newsletter and peruse the Books Page):


You can “Like” Cynthia’s Facebook Author page here:

View her "Behind the Books" boards on Pinterest:

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

His Reckless Bargain (Rakes & Rebels, Book 8) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
PartridgeCS More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the Raveneau saga!
NavyWave62 More than 1 year ago
WONDERFUL SERIES! I love the novels about Raveneau and Beauvisage families. I know it is stated they can stand alone, but you will be so enthralled in their stories, that you need to read them in the order the author has listed, because the families go back and forth between novels. Not in just a small way, but in a major way that you feel like you are having tea/coffee with old friends. I didn't care for Adrienne at the beginning of her story, she was a spoiled brat as far as I was concerned. But she matured slowly and grew into a lovely young lady. Nathan, was an interesting character. I can't believe these two, who came from parents who adored each other, fought love. I won't go into the plot, as it has been told, but this is a story, of romance that builds slowly, has intrigue, suspense, and some twists. There are mild love scenes, that get the point of their feelings, without being vulgar. I bought the bundles of each families story, because they go back and forth and it is so entertaining to visit old friends. I highly recommend this series of both families. I didn't give this 5 stars, because I didn't feel a connection between our H/H in this book as I have all the other's. Don't get me wrong, still a great read. (ljb)
mahjchick More than 1 year ago
BARBADOS aka SILVER SEA aka HIS RECKLESS BARGAIN, finally brings together the Raveneau and Beauvisage families. I originally read BARBADOS when it first came out (I still have my paperback copy) and then reread HIS RECKLESS BARGAIN as an ebook. A reckless bargain, indeed. After an annoying encounter with a young lady whose interest in a fan, disturbs traffic, Nathan Raveneau goes to his club, only to run into his father's old friend Nicholai Beauvisage. Nicholai is worried about his daughter Adrienne, who is a little too headstrong for her own good and is getting threats from her former employer. Nathan and Nicholai strike a deal where Nathan will disguise himself as a bodyguard for Adrienne in return for a piece of land on Barbados that Nicholai owns and Nathan has had his eye on. Needless to say, Adrienne was just as annoyed as Nathan was about their first encounter and when they are thrown together, neither is happy. From Harms Castle, where Adrienne is a paid companion to Lady Thomasina, to the lush island of Barbados, Nathan and Adrienne's relationship goes through many cycles and both characters show growth. While I wasn't as fond of Adrienne in the earlier part of the book, her strength shines through in the latter portion. The descriptions of Barbados are wonderful and I enjoyed the secondary characters. I will say, that as a librarian, Lady Thomasina's book system made me cringe a bit (organizing the library by color and size as opposed to by author), but that was the point, so I chose to be amused instead. HIS RECKLESS BARGAIN stands alone, but for fans of Cynthia Wright's Rakes and Rebels series, it is nice to hear from old friends. As the next to last of the Raveneau books, it sets up the next one (TEMPEST) very nicely. While there are no cliffhangers, threads of the story become important in the final book. For dedicated readers of Rakes and Rebels, it is gratifying to see the two main families join together, at last. For new readers, it is an excellent incentive to go back and read the earlier titles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In so saying..at first thought that adrienne was an idiot....then i really liked her...i loved nathan...i also loved them together when he wanted to marry her. I loved this story!!! And i love a story when main characters marry and fall in love at least half way thru the book. I think this my favorite in second-generation characters of this series!
Sam1219 More than 1 year ago
Headstrong Adrienne Beauvisage insists on maintaining independence by taking employment as companion to Lady Thomasina Harms after her last position as governess ends abruptly when she has to lock her charges father in a closet at knifepoint to escape his advances. In light of continuous threats from her spurned former employer, her father hires notorious rake Nathan Raveneau to protect Adrienne and keep her chaste until her 21st birthday. In return, Nathan will receive a plot of land in Barbados he has always coveted that will be key in thwarting his greatest enemy. Will Nathan be able to protect Adrienne when she resents his very presence? Or is that resentment an attraction that will boil over an threaten all of Nathan's hopes and dreams for his Barbados plantation if they act on that attraction? Is land and stopping one's enemy worth sacrificing one's chance at love? This book has plenty of action and lots of heat and passion. The opening chapters are a little slow, but they do set up the story well, and one it picks up speed, the plot is very compelling. I actually won this audiobook in a contest, so although I have read other books by Cynthia Wright that have been included in anthologies, this is my first Raveneau novel (I still had no trouble following the plot), but now I am looking forward to going back and reading the others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can just smell the salty air and feel the atmosphere! Such a wonderful writer. Thank yoy Cynthia Wright! Just the right amount of love, romance and adventure. Never raunchy or overly sexually explicit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really looking fwd to this story but just couldnt connect with the characters or the plot. Still a fan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very much enjoyed you will as well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm loving this series...knowing the charaters from the book before just makes you feel more vested in the story. If you like books that join family and friends with adventure, fun and mystery you'll love these books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story has loads of intrigue and romance with the characters of Adrienne and Nathan. Adrienne becomes part of many adventures that tries the patience of Nathan who is contracted to keep her out of danger till her 21st birthday. This was a fun story and was hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy and fun read. Loved the whole saga
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was creative and held my attention. I loved Nathan Reveneau character. The story was gentle at times and harsh at othet times. The story is about 326 pages and then previews fromnMs. Wright other books. Very romantic! The female was strong but reasonable, which i really liked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although it's implied I didn't feel the strong bond forming between the characters. They have so little interaction on the first half of the book. How could friendship form between them better yet how could they fall in love?! The heroine appeared impetuous and scatter brained instead of an independent strong willed and intelligent woman. I don't understand the hero at all. I managed to finish the book and will never read it again. I'm still a fan of Cynthia Wright.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago