Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater: 1930-2010

Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater: 1930-2010

by James Fisher

Hardcover(2 Volumes)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater: 1930-2010 by James Fisher

From legends like Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, and Arthur Miller to successful present-day playwrights like Neil LaBute, Tony Kushner, and David Mamet, some of the most important names in the history of theater are from the past 80 years. Contemporary American theater has produced some of the most memorable, beloved, and important plays in history, including Death of a Salesman, A Streetcar Named Desire, Barefoot in the Park, Our Town, The Crucible, A Raisin in the Sun, and The Odd Couple. Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater presents the plays and personages, movements and institutions, and cultural developments of the American stage from 1930 to 2010, a period of vast and almost continuous change. It covers the ever-changing history of the American theater with emphasis on major movements, persons, plays, and events. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,500 cross-referenced dictionary entries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the history of American theater.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780810855328
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 06/01/2011
Series: Historical Dictionaries of Literature and the Arts Series
Edition description: 2 Volumes
Pages: 1002
Sales rank: 878,673
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.40(h) x 3.10(d)

About the Author

James Fisher is head of the Theatre Department at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He has published a dozen books and directed and/or acted in 150 theatre productions. He is the 2007 recipient of the Betty Jean Jones Award for Excellence in the Teaching of American Theatre from the American Theatre and Drama Society and in 2010 he was elected to membership in the National Theatre Conference.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews