Hit Me!: Fighting the Las Vegas Mob by the Numbers

Hit Me!: Fighting the Las Vegas Mob by the Numbers

by Danielle Gomes, Jay Bonansinga

NOOK Book(eBook)

$15.49 $25.50 Save 39% Current price is $15.49, Original price is $25.5. You Save 39%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Las Vegas, 1970s—a golden age of Glitter Gulch corruption. Dennis Gomes--the youngest division chief in Gaming Control Board history--whipped a ragtag group of auditors into hardened, gun-slinging investigators, and shattered clichés about milquetoast accountant cops. Coming within a hair’s breadth of death more than once, Gomes capped off his tenure with the famous bust of the Stardust skim, portrayed in the book and movie Casino. In Hit Me!, there’s action to fill a dozen Scorsese films—midnight raids, heart-rending showgirl romances, and deadly double-crosses. And the cast of characters reads like a roll call of gangster lore. But no matter how much evidence Gomes uncovered, or how many witnesses and informants were bloodied, Gomes was swept aside by a political system that was dirty to its core. It took nearly three decades, but in 2007, Gomes made a date with destiny at The Family Secrets Trial--the justice system finally taking out a “hit” on the mob. In a Chicago courtroom on July 30, 2007, Gomes--a key prosecutorial witness--finally settled all scores.
     Dennis Gomes, who passed away in February 2012, will be posthumously inducted into the Gaming Hall of Fame in Las Vegas in October 2012.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780762794324
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 05/07/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 722,230
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Danielle Gomes, daughter of the late Dennis Gomes, who owned and operated Resorts Casino Hotel in Atlantic City, is a freelance writer and filmmaker. She co-wrote and narrated a documentary short on America’s homeless that won a Telly Award and a Videographer’s Award of Excellence. A member of the Association of Writers and Writers Program, she lives in Margate, NJ. Jay Bonansinga is the author of Pinkerton’s War (Lyons Press), The Sinking of the Eastland, a Chicago Reader Critics Choice Book, and more than ten novels. He is also the author of the novelization of the television series The Walking Dead, a book titled The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor. He lives in Evanston, IL.

Table of Contents

Prologue: Don't Look Away ix

Part I Bullets and Pencils 1

Chapter 1 Double-Down 3

Chapter 2 Gunsmoke 19

Chapter 3 Whispers 31

Chapter 4 The Cookie Jar 43

Chapter 5 Hard Lessons 57

Part II Bolshevik in Residence 69

Chapter 6 The Girl with the Legs 71

Chapter 7 Rules of the Game 83

Chapter 8 Unholy Pact 95

Chapter 9 Sledgehammer 109

Chapter 10 Crash Course 127

Chapter 11 In the Red 139

Chapter 12 The Gamer's Wife 153

Part III Wolves in the Henhouse 173

Chapter 13 A Shot across the Bow 175

Chapter 14 Trust No One 183

Chapter 15 Loophole 197

Chapter 16 Cat and Mouse 215

Chapter 17 Into Thin Air 227

Epilogue: No More Secrets 233

Afterword: A Daughter's Thoughts 237

Notes 243

Sources 255

Index 261

About the Authors 268

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews