by Nahko and Medicine for the People


$12.43 $13.99 Save 11% Current price is $12.43, Original price is $13.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, September 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



Pop and hip-hop rhythms meet reggae vibes and gospel lyrics on Hoka, an uplifting and philosophy-filled LP where the average lyric goes as deep as "The more I understand about the human race/The less I understand about our purpose and place." For Nahko and his band, think Michael Franti and Spearhead but through the lens of a man who's been a victim of human trafficking and was raised white, only to learn of his Apache heritage later in life. Heavy numbers like "The Wolves Have Returned" reveal that these scars run deep, but uplift is all there is to be found on "Love Letters to God," which Darius Rucker could pick up, while the cool rocker "We Are on Time" is Dave Matthews Band worthy. Add Hawaiian elements and Nanko's cutting raps and there's almost too much to consume, but the tangled and bewildering Hoka is also dazzling and unclassifiable.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/2016
Label: Side One Dummy
UPC: 0603967161724
catalogNumber: 16172
Rank: 26309


  1. Hoka
  2. Directions
  3. It Is Written
  4. All Can Be Done
  5. San Quentin
  6. We Shall Overcome
  7. Two Wolves
  8. Great Spirit
  9. We Are on Time
  10. Love Letters to God
  11. Heart Forward
  12. Tus Pies (Your Feet)
  13. Backbone
  14. Ku Kia'i Mauna
  15. Build a Bridge
  16. Make a Change
  17. Give a Little, Get a Little
  18. Runner
  19. The Wolves Have Returned

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews