Pub. Date:
Hollywood Blues: Classic West Coast Blues 1947-1953

Hollywood Blues: Classic West Coast Blues 1947-1953


$24.92 $24.99 Save 0% Current price is $24.92, Original price is $24.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


The Second World War and its immediate wake meant an exodus to California of folks from all over the country looking for work in the powerful war industries -- and a place in the sunshiny California American Dream. Some of these immigrants were professional and semi-professional musicians, and they helped fuel California's newly emerging recording industry. But sunshine can give you the blues on occasion, apparently, and this two-disc, 53-track set from JSP Records collects rare and priceless examples of early West Coast blues cut between 1947 and 1953. Selected and annotated by Neil Slaven, it makes for a fascinating glimpse at a specific time, place, and sound.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2012
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065421922
catalogNumber: 4219
Rank: 160126


Disc 1

  1. Far East Blues
  2. Soldier Boy Houston Blues
  3. Quinsella
  4. Pretty Woman
  5. Got Them Blues
  6. When I Get in This House Woman
  7. Model T Boogie
  8. Hurry Hurry Baby
  9. Rampart Street Blues, Pt. 1
  10. Shakin' the Boogie
  11. T.P. Railer
  12. Black Snake Blues
  13. Skin & Bone
  14. New Orleans Blues
  15. Little Machine
  16. TNT Woman
  17. Leavin' Korea
  18. Hollywood Blues
  19. I'm Going Upstairs
  20. Alla Blues
  21. Last Affair Blues
  22. Night Working Woman
  23. Drinking My Last Drink
  24. Southern California Blues
  25. Tricky Woman Blues
  26. Old Hen

Disc 2

  1. Winehead Swing
  2. Central Avenue Blues
  3. Last Pair of Shoes
  4. Lonesome Blues
  5. Trailway Bus Station
  6. At the Station Crying
  7. Worryin' Blues
  8. Swimming Pool Blues
  9. I Got a Latter
  10. Harlem Blues
  11. Brownskin Woman
  12. Rampart Street Blues, Pt. 2
  13. Everything I Do Is Wrong
  14. Desert Blues
  15. Penitentiary Blues, Pt. 1
  16. Penitentiary Blues, Pt. 2
  17. Operator Blues
  18. New Orleans Blues
  19. Throw This Poor Dog a Bone
  20. Baby I Love You
  21. Walking and Crying Blues
  22. Big Timing Woman
  23. Howling Wolf
  24. Come and Go with Me
  25. Little Girl Blues
  26. Old Hen
  27. Hollywood Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sidney Maiden   Harmonica,Vocals
James Tisdom   Guitar,Vocals
John Hogg   Guitar,Vocals
Little Son Willis   Piano,Vocals
Beverly Scott   Guitar,Vocals
Sonny Boy Johnson   Harmonica,Vocals
Mac Willis   Piano,Vocals
Andrew "Smokey" Hogg   Guitar,Vocals
Ernest McClay   Guitar,Vocals
Black Diamond   Guitar,Vocals
Slim Green   Guitar,Vocals
Sonny Boy Holmes   Guitar,Vocals
Lillian Tillis   Vocals
Lawyer Houston   Guitar,Vocals
R. Green   Guitar,Vocals
Big Son Tillis   Guitar,Vocals
Louis Jackson   Piano
Haskell Sadler   Guitar,Vocals
Dig Moore   Piano
Bee Brown   Drums
Junior Hampton   Drums,Vocals
Charles Lacy   Guitar,Vocals
Ira Taylor   Harmonica,Vocals
James "Little" Houston   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Neil Slaven   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews