Hometown Girl (Chesapeake Diaries Series #4)

Hometown Girl (Chesapeake Diaries Series #4)

by Mariah Stewart
4.0 42

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, September 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Hometown Girl (Chesapeake Diaries Series #4) by Mariah Stewart

New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy.

Life was always just about perfect for Brooke Madison Bowers. She was the prettiest, most popular girl in small-town St. Dennis, Maryland, a prom queen, local pageant star, and the pride and joy of her loving parents. She even married the man of her dreams. But the promise of happily ever after fell to pieces when her husband was killed while serving in Iraq. Brokenhearted and longing for the solace of better days, she returns to the idyllic world of St. Dennis, and the familiar comfort of the family farm. Surrounded by her loving family and friends, she’s determined to build a new life, complete with her own cupcake bakery. She’s equally determined never to fall in love again.

For Jesse Enright, life has been a challenge. A fourth-generation attorney, he’s spent his life fighting to escape the shadow of his irresponsible father. Now he’s moved to St. Dennis to run the family law practice, and he’s ready to find the right girl, get married, and settle down. But his carefully laid plans go out the window when he meets Brooke and finds himself caught between the unbreakable law of attraction and Brooke’s resolve to go her way alone—despite the undeniable feelings Jesse stirs in her. But just like catching lightning in a bottle, is it possible to fall head-over-heels, heart-and-soul in love all over again?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345531216
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/27/2011
Series: Chesapeake Diaries Series , #4
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 634,006
Product dimensions: 6.86(w) x 4.20(h) x 1.08(d)

About the Author

Mariah Stewart is the award-winning New York Times bestselling author of twenty-nine novels of contemporary romance and romantic suspense. A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband and their dogs amid the rolling hills and Amish farms of southern Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she gardens, reads, and enjoys country life. She is currently working on the next book in her bestselling Chesapeake Diaries series.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hometown Girl 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this wonderful story. It will keep you entertained for hours.
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
Wonderful. Brooke and Jesse's story is all about proving yourself. Great addition to the series. I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dutcheja More than 1 year ago
I am so in love with this series. This is book 4 and I am getting ready to jump in to book 5. I love the town of St Dennis and if it were real I would be packing my bags to move there. Everything about this series says "HOME". The characters are all fabulous even with their flaws, the places are all quaint and scream small town. The stories are so romantic and filled with all the things wonderful and annoying about small town life. This series is a definite to read if you are a fan of romance and Mariah Stewart is fast becoming my new favorite author.
Joan50JM More than 1 year ago
I am enjoying the entire Chesapeake Diaries series. This is the fourth one. It's a very sweet love story...somewhat predictable...but I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks for naming your books after me . My name is mariah you guys are the best thars why your the best.
NINASWORLD1 More than 1 year ago
Book 4 of the series, easy read. Cute story, Brooke isn't my favorite character but it picks up where the previous book left off. I love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Student of the year
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
(Chesapeake Diaries #4) Brooke was the typical pretty and popular small town girl and married the man of her dreams who later was killed in Iraq with a small son Logan. She does not want to fall in love and sets her sights on opening a cupcake bakery. I thought she was very boring and not very interesting in the book. However, the hot sexy Jesse, a new attorney in town escaping the reputation of his irresponsible father moves to St Dennis to take over his grandfather’s law practice and prove himself worthy. Of course he falls in love with Brooke and the typical story. I would like to have seen more fireworks from Brooke as she definitely did not match the heat from Jesse. Of course, Grace as usual was great and the other BFF (girls in town who are planning their weddings). Everyone falls in love with someone in town and all the girls own a store of some sort. No a lot of plot here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sulky597 More than 1 year ago
I love Mariah Stewart - BUT lately her books have become run of the mill. I like a good romance, but this is so syrupy that I gained 10 pounds just reading it. What is it with authors lately?? First Nora Roberts and now this. Very disappointing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Review by Valerie: Book four in this series and while predictable can be a boring thing, in this instance, it¿s not. Predictable for this series is like going home to put on your favorite pajamas and snuggle up with hot chocolate on a cold night with a fire crackling in the fireplace. You know the two characters will end up together but getting there is most definitely the fun. Brooke has a lot to overcome in this book. She¿s returned to town to live with her mom and brother, along with her son, after her husband¿s death in Iraq. When she was younger, she was one of those girls, you know, the mean ones. She made fun of several girls in high school and always got the hot guys. Then, she got married and life was still great for her. Now, she returns to a small town as a different person on the inside, grieving, remorseful, but who will believe it? As she tries to make a small business for herself and her son¿s future, she deals with a lot of small town kindness that surprises her. Jesse wants Brooke, no way to mistake that look in his eye, but her brother tells him he better play like he¿s not interested or else she¿ll run fast and far away from him. Geez, how¿s a guy to pretend he just wants to be friends? Since he¿s a lawyer, he offers his services to Brooke and makes sure to plan the visits when it¿s time for lunch or supper, etc. However, his year at the law firm is almost up. What will he do if his grandfather doesn¿t accept him and offer him a job? As things heated up, it was fantastic to read about how the characters coped with their growing attraction, as well as read about some of the other characters from previous books. I simply love this series! A special shout out to Molly Edwards for sharing this book with me! Quote: ¿She waited for the stab of pain in her heart, for the ache that would remind her of the finality of this action. But for the first time, she didn¿t feel as if Eric were watching from somewhere, accusing her of betraying him, of forgetting him too soon. She felt only that she was taking care of some necessary business and that Eric would approve.¿ Page 219
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So far have liked the series
ShereadsALOT More than 1 year ago
It saddens me to say that Hometown Girl was not my favorite book of the series. Don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that this is a bad book. I just wasn't drawn into it, like I was Home Again. You have to respect Brooke for the maturity that she has now. She is ALWAYS trying to over come her past. Probably a little bit more than she should. I could not imagine having to endure the things that she did. I think her story is gripping in that alot of military women have to deal with the same things. Jesse is a good guy, dispite who his sperm donor was.... You will love him.... Like Brooke, Jesse is trying to also overcome his past. I'm really looking forward to the next book.... Sadly, knowing/thinking that it will be the last we hear of St. Dennis does not make me happy at all. You don't have to.... But I think that it would help you better understand somethings.... YOU SHOULD READ THE ENRIGHT SERIES, BEFORE READING THIS BOOK.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago