Honky Tonky Nights

Honky Tonky Nights

by The Flying Burrito Brothers


$11.76 $12.99 Save 9% Current price is $11.76, Original price is $12.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Honky Tonky Nights

This double-disc set from Belgium's Music Avenue features two Flying Burrito Brothers lineups and live/outtake recordings from the mid-'70s to the early '80s -- by which time Gram Parsons had been long gone. Disc one, entitled From Another Time, features original Burrito bassist Chris Ethridge and pedal steel strongman Sneaky Pete Kleinow, with drummer Gene Parsons (no relation); fiddle player, vocalist, and guitarist Gib Guilbeau; and Los Angeles rock and blues everyman guitarist and vocalist Joel Scott Hill (whose L.A. Getaway album with Ethridge is regarded by many as a classic of early-'70s roots rock). The Hollywood Nights lineup on disc two contains Kleinow as the only original member. He is joined by bassist Skip Battin; John Beland on guitars, Dobro, harmonica, and vocals; Guilbeau; a slew of drummers, including Billy Thomas and Mickey McGee; alternating keyboard players; and female backing vocalists, including Jeanie Clark. What does it all mean? That these are bands that tried to continue on a legacy begun and lasting for only a magic moment in the late '60s and early '70s. Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen played the standards -- and there are plenty of them here, including "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music)," and "White Line Fever" -- and the original Burrito tunes cannot be given the same soul they were by the original band with Hillman and Parsons sharing harmonies. This one is for completists only. There isn't anything terribly wrong with these performances; there just isn't anything original or captivating about them, either.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/13/2007
Label: Music Avenue Records
UPC: 5413992501601
catalogNumber: 250160
Rank: 152973


Disc 1

  1. Diggie Diggie Li
  2. Wheels
  3. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music)
  4. Faded Love
  5. Christine's Tune (aka Devil in Disguise)
  6. Building Fires
  7. Bon Soir Blues
  8. White Line Fever
  9. Sin City
  10. She Thinks I Still Care
  11. Why Baby Why?
  12. Close Up the Honky Tonks

Disc 2

  1. She Belongs to Everyone But Me
  2. Somewhere Tonight
  3. Baby, How'd We Ever Get This Way?
  4. Too Much Honky Tonkin'
  5. Midnight Magic Woman
  6. My Abandoned Heart
  7. She's a Friend of a Friend
  8. Louisiana
  9. Cheating Kind of Love
  10. Why Must the Ending Always Be So Sad
  11. That's When You Know It's Over
  12. You
  13. I Swear I Don't Miss Her Anymore
  14. She's a Hell of a Deal
  15. Another Shade of Grey
  16. Damned If I'll Be Lonely Tonight
  17. If Something Should Come Between Us
  18. When You're Giving Yourself to a Stranger
  19. Run to the Night
  20. Toast to Toast
  21. Closer to You
  22. True Love Never Runs Dry
  23. Tell Me It Ain't So

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Flying Burrito Brothers   Primary Artist
Gene Parsons   Drums
Skip Battin   Bass Guitar,Harmony
Sneaky Pete Kleinow   Pedal Steel Guitar
John Beland   Banjo,Dobro,Guitar,Harmonica,Accordion,Vocals
Chris Ethridge   Bass,Bass Guitar
Gib Guilbeau   Fiddle,Guitar,Vocals
Charlie Harwood   Keyboards
Joel Scott Hill   Guitar,Vocals
Mickey McGee   Drums
Elmo Peeler   Keyboards
Billy Thomas   Drums
John Davis & the Georgia Sea Island Singers   Keyboards
Mary Green   Background Vocals,Harmony

Technical Credits

John Beland   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Gib Guilbeau   Composer
John Tobler   Liner Notes
Alfie Falckenbach   Liner Notes,Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews