Hooked On Your Love

Hooked On Your Love

by Kenny Neal


$15.65 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.65, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Hooked On Your Love

Being the oldest son of Louisiana harmonica legend Raful Neal and having Lazy Lester, Buddy Guy, and Slim Harpo as family friends and frequent household guests meant Kenny Neal literally grew up with the blues, the swamp variety and otherwise, and his career as such has been all about plying the family business. A pretty good harp player himself (he was still a toddler when he was given his first harmonica by Slim Harpo), Neal has also developed into a sleek, economical, and graceful electric guitarist, and thanks to songs like the title track here, "Hooked on Your Love," and the wise and beautiful "Bitter with the Sweet," he has also become a skillful songwriter. This set isn't quite as powerful as his previous Let Life Flow album from 2008, but only by a slight degree, and it's clear that Neal has hit his mature stride in the past couple of years. The above originals are the highlights here, but so, too, are covers of Little Milton's "If Walls Could Talk," Bobby Bland's "Ain't Nothing You Can Do," O.V. Wright's "Blind, Crippled, or Crazy," and Spencer Wiggins' "Old Friends." Each features confident singing, tasteful and appropriate horn charts, elegant guitar leads (and now and then a chugging harp solo), and a gently swinging Louisiana groove, making this a nice follow-up to Let Life Flow.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2010
Label: Blind Pig
UPC: 0019148513723
catalogNumber: 5137
Rank: 72606

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kenny Neal   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Lucky Peterson   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Clavinet
Big James Montgomery   Trombone
Stanley Abernathy   Trumpet
Joe Campbell   Trumpet
Tony Coleman   Drums
Theresa Davis   Background Vocals
Chris Dunn   Trombone
Vasti Jackson   Rhythm Guitar
Diane Madison   Background Vocals
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Darnell Neal   Bass
Carle Vickers   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Bryan Morris   Drums
Tyree Neal   Synthesizer,Rhythm Guitar
Melvin Jackson   Alto Saxophone
Kenny Anderson   Trumpet
Alfreda McCrary Lee   Background Vocals
Regina McCrary   Background Vocals
Kenny Neal   Percussion,Drums
James "Boogaloo" Bolden   Trumpet
Fredrick Neal   Organ,Piano,Clavinet
Cory Distefano   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Kenny Neal   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
William Bell   Composer
Blaise Barton   overdub engineer
Joe Campbell   Horn Arrangements
Edward Chmelewski   Executive Producer
Jerry del Giudice   Executive Producer
Brian Leach   overdub engineer
Don Robey   Composer
Robert Miller   Composer
Kenny Anderson   Horn Arrangements
Mike Nevers   Engineer
Rev. Wade Scott   Composer
Keith Jones   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews