Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

by Halsey Halsey
Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

Hopeless Fountain Kingdom

by Halsey Halsey


$7.99 $16.99 Save 53% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 53%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 19


Halsey opens Hopeless Fountain Kingdom by reading a passage from William Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet, a sign that she's intent on achieving grand things with her second album. The time is right for a great leap forward. Badlands, her 2014 debut, established Halsey as a possible contender for Lorde's brooding throne, but she received her breakthrough singing on the Chainsmokers' smash 2016 single "Closer." Both events inform Hopeless Fountain Kingdom, which casts a far wider net than Badlands. Where that album essentially dedicates itself to EDM-inspired pop, Hopeless Fountain Kingdom uses that sound as an anchor that allows Halsey to dip her toe into stark singer/songwriter confessions ("Sorry"), hip-hop ("Lie," featuring a verse by Quavo of Migos), soul ("Alone"), and a healthy dose of pop songs designed for mass exposure. It's a slight shift, but it's notable particularly because it helps differentiate the songs from one another. This doesn't always happen -- the first half of the record tends to bleed together into one pulsating neon smear -- but when the melodies are sharply articulated and the production not so cloistered, the tracks seem distinct, even memorable. "Alone," that foray into smooth soul, is chief among these cuts, rivaled by the soaring "Bad at Love" and "Strangers," where Halsey laments that her lover "doesn't kiss me on the mouth anymore." Same-sex love songs remain a rarity in the pop music of the 2010s, and while that's a sly reveal of how Halsey represents a generational shift, Hopeless Fountain Kingdom as a whole feels quintessentially 2017 in how it jumbles styles and sentiment, streamlining a teeming, contradictory culture into something smooth, glassy and easy to digest.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2017
Label: Astralwerks
UPC: 0602557562378
catalogNumber: 575623
Rank: 4465


  1. The Prologue
  2. 100 Letters
  3. Eyes Closed
  4. Alone
  5. Now or Never
  6. Sorry
  7. Good Mourning
  8. Lie
  9. Walls Could Talk
  10. Bad at Love
  11. Strangers
  12. Devil in Me
  13. Hopeless

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Halsey   Primary Artist,Vocals
Greg Kurstin   Guitar,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Mellotron,chamberlain,fender rhodes
Benny Blanco   Keyboards
Happy Perez   Guitar
Adrienne Woods   Cello
Lido   Keyboards
Kiara Ana Perico   Viola
Cashmere Cat   Keyboards
Quavo   Vocals
Lauren Jauregui   Vocals
Starrah   Background Vocals
Chrysanthe Tan   Violin
Dante Frangipane   Spoken Word
Alexandra McKoy   Spoken Word
Ezra Kurstin   Voices

Technical Credits

Chris Braide   Composer
Greg Kurstin   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Dan Wilson   Composer
Benny Blanco   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Happy Perez   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Sia Furler   Composer
Justin Tranter   Composer
Eric Frederic   Composer
Alex Pasco   Engineer
Anthony Hester   Composer
Joshua Coleman   Composer
Benjamin Levin   Composer
Lido   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Nathan Perez   Composer
Josh Carter   Composer,Programming,Producer
Brian Ziff   Photographic Reproduction
David Schwerkolt   Engineer
Peder Losnegård   Composer
Abel Tesfaye   Composer
Cashmere Cat   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Ricky Reed   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Rogét Chahayed   Composer,Additional Production
Julian Burg   Engineer
Magnus August Høiberg   Composer
Ben Sedano   Engineer
Ashley Frangipane   Composer,Executive Producer
Quavious Marshall   Composer
Garrett Hilliker   Art Direction
Ethan Shumaker   Engineer
Brittany Hazzard   Composer

Customer Reviews