Hopelessly Devoted to You, Vol. 5

Hopelessly Devoted to You, Vol. 5


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


The fifth volume of Hopeless' Hopelessly Devoted to You compilation series is a typically economic look at the label and its bands, offering seven previously unreleased tracks and some video content for good measure. It kicks off with material from Mêlée and Amber Pacific, two bands with clear-eyed lead vocals and instrumentation that might best be described as tastefully gritty. In other words, it's stuff that's closer to pop heartbreak than psycho hardcore. At the same time, the Hopeless roster also includes the decidedly metalcore splatter of Break the Silence and Avenged Sevenfold, a stylistic spectrum that speaks to the fractured, shifty nature of hardcore and punk revivalism in 2004. Against All Authority's "Wet Foot Policy" is a dub-inflected gem dating from 1999 and a split 10" with the Criminals, while the unreleased "Where the Waves Are Highest" finds Jesse Michaels revisiting his Op Ivy glory days with Common Rider. Other highlights include Thrice's "To Awake and Avenge the Dead" (listen to that metal chording!) and a satisfactorily kooky live reading of Atom & His Package's "Punk Rock Academy."

Product Details

Release Date: 06/29/2004
Label: Hopeless Records
UPC: 0790692067527
catalogNumber: 675
Rank: 103634


  1. New Day
  2. Always You
  3. Motion Without Meaning
  4. Comfort in Cold Blood
  5. Chapter Four
  6. Wet Foot Policy
  7. Where the Waves Are Highest
  8. Francesca
  9. Ancient Ruins
  10. Leaving What You Wanted
  11. To Awake and Avenge the Dead
  12. The Likes of Me
  13. Eternal Rest
  14. Punk Rock Academy
  15. Deadbolt
  16. Unholy Confessions

Album Credits

Customer Reviews