Horn O' Plenty [Compilation]

Horn O' Plenty [Compilation]

by Charlie Shavers


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Horn O' Plenty [Compilation]

Volume four in Lone Hill Jazz's five-CD Charlie Shavers series, Horn O' Plenty combines all of the music from three sessions dating from the 1950s. The first four selections feature Shavers in a septet with trombonist Benny Morton and clarinetist Hank D'Amico. "Story of the Jazz Trumpet" is narrated by Al "Jazzbo" Collins and has Shavers doing effective impressions of Louis Armstrong, Roy Eldridge, Cootie Williams, Ziggy Elman, Harry James and Dizzy Gillespie. The next five numbers are from a one-time reunion of the surviving members of the John Kirby Sextet including clarinetist Buster Bailey and altoist Russell Procope. Some of the old magic from the original group is brought back, and Maxine Sullivan is as wonderful as ever on remakes of two of her folk song hits. The remaining eight numbers have Shavers in an octet with clarinetist Sol Yaged, trombonist Urbie Green, and tenor saxophonist Sam "The Man" Taylor (in one of his few jazz dates of the period) playing Cole Porter songs that are arranged by former bandleader Larry Clinton. In most cases, the performances are quite concise but each of the horn players gets their short solos in, with Shavers usually stealing the show. While this CD is not as essential as the first two in this series, fans of the colorful trumpeter and of small-group swing in general will definitely want it.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/05/2005
Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain
UPC: 8436019581407
catalogNumber: 10140
Rank: 107828

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlie Shavers   Primary Artist,Trumpet
Buster Bailey   Clarinet
Urbie Green   Trombone
Specs Powell   Drums
Maxine Sullivan   Vocals
Aaron Bell   Bass
Cozy Cole   Drums
Hank D'Amico   Clarinet
Bob Haggart   Bass
Sol Yaged   Clarinet
Buddy Weed   Piano
Ken Kersey   Piano
Russell Procope   Alto Saxophone
Sam "The Man" Taylor   Tenor Saxophone
Panama Francis   Drums
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Billy Kyle   Piano
Benny Morton's All Stars   Trombone

Technical Credits

Leonard Feather   Liner Notes
Bennie Moten   Composer
Charlie Shavers   Composer
Larry Clinton   Arranger
Duke Ellington   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Art Hickman   Composer
William Farrar   Liner Notes
John Flanagan   Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer
Harry Williams   Composer
Jani Tolin   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews