Horns of Plenty, Vol. 1

Horns of Plenty, Vol. 1


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Horns of Plenty, Vol. 1

This is the first of three double CDs that match a disc of live performances from Stan Kenton's Mellophonium Orchestra of 1961 with a CD from a younger, comparable band, in this case the Collegiate Neophonic Orchestra of Southern California. Kenton's orchestra had been expanded to 23 with the addition of four mellophoniums, a sort of low-budget French horn that was difficult to play in tune. One of the last significant bands that Kenton led before his orchestra largely became a college stage band, this version features trumpeter Marvin Stamm, altoist Gabe Baltazar, tenor saxophonist Sam Donahue, and 14 brass. Its repertoire is comprised primarily of standards including "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea," "Body and Soul," Gerry Mulligan's "Walking Shoes," and "Stompin' at the Savoy," all played the Kenton way. The Neophonic Orchestra, directed by Jack Wheaton, has very few recognizable names, but the soloists are solid and the ensembles are stirring. Among the difficult pieces that they interpret impeccably are "Tribute to a Poltegeist," "Three Sounds for Neophonic Orchestra," and "Crescendo and Diminuendo for Quintet and Neophonic Orchestra." The latter, which lasts over 16 minutes, has the group joined by the Shelly Manne Quintet. All three volumes of Horns of Plenty are heartily recommended to Stan Kenton fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/18/2003
Label: Tantara Records
UPC: 0780291111721
catalogNumber: 1117

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stan Kenton   Primary Artist,Piano,Leader
Greg Mathieson   Piano
Marvin Stamm   Trumpet
Gabe Baltazar   Alto Saxophone
Sam Donahue   Tenor Saxophone
Gene Roland   Mellophonium
Bobby Grove   Trombone
Steve Spiegl   Trumpet
Clive Acker   Tuba
Jim Amlotte   Bass Trombone
Phil Ayling   Clarinet,Flute,Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,English Horn,Oboe,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Tom Baker   Trombone
Bob Behrendt   Trumpet
Ernie Bernhardt   Trumpet,Vocals
Bud Brisbois   Trumpet
Joe Burnett   Mellophonium
Dwight Carver   Mellophonium
Pete Chivily   Bass
David Coy   Tuba
Gordon Davison   Mellophonium
Wayne Dunstan   Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone
Bob Fitzpatrick   Trombone
Michael Francis   Bass Clarinet,Contrabass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone
Paul Heydorff   Trombone
Marvin Holladay   Baritone Saxophone
Marni Johnson   French Horn
Keith LaMotte   Mellophonium
Larry McGuire   Trumpet
Bud Parker   Trombone
Paul Renzi   Tenor Saxophone
Ruth Ritchie   Percussion,Mallets
Bob Rolfe   Trumpet
Carl Saunders   Mellophonium
Dalton Smith   Trumpet
Jim Snodgrass   Clarinet,Flute,Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Stanley Steele   French Horn
Bill Von Ravensberg   Electric Bass
Dave Wheeler   Tuba,Bass Trombone
Adrian Tapia   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Jack Caudill   Trumpet
Ron Foster   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Gene Strimling   Percussion,Mallets
Jerry Lestock McKenzie   Drums
Gary Pack   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Jack Spurlock   Trombone
Wynonna Smith   Drums
Tony Farrell   Trumpet
Jeff Apmadoc   Trombone
Greg Wallen   Trumpet
Jacob VanVelzen   French Horn
Kathy Tapia   French Horn
Clana Stein   Acoustic Bass
Lee Coffey   Trumpet
Mark Shrode   Flute,Piccolo,Alto Saxophone
Phil Grossman   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Bill Holman   Arranger
Stan Kenton   Arranger,Advisor
Gerry Mulligan   Arranger,Composer
George Shearing   Composer
Sam Donahue   Arranger
Lennie Niehaus   Arranger
Gene Roland   Arranger,Composer
Pete Rugolo   Composer
Edgar Sampson   Composer
Chick Webb   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Steve Spiegl   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
George Acevedo   Adaptation
Ernie Bernhardt   Arranger
Johnny Burke   Composer
Dave Grusin   Composer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Wayne Dunstan   Arranger
Michael Francis   Composer
Bill Fritz   Composer,Liner Note Source
Johnny Green   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Wally Heider   Engineer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Willie Maiden   Composer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Jack Wheaton   Composer,Director,Producer,Liner Notes,Liner Note Preparation
Alvin Davis   Composer
Alf Clausen   Composer
Benny Goodman & His Orchestra   Composer
Carson Taylor   Engineer
Arthur Johnston   Composer
Jack Spurlock   Arranger
Sam Coslow   Composer
Ted Koehler   Composer
Robert Sour   Composer
Frank Eyton   Composer
Victor Schertzinger   Composer
Robert Mellin   Composer
Philip Braham   Composer
Douglas Furber   Composer
Guy Wood   Composer
Alfred Markus   Composer
Fritz Rotter   Composer
Bill Lichtenauer   Producer,Liner Notes,Liner Note Source
Larry Bowman   Graphic Design
Ron Taft   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews