The Hot Breath of War

The Hot Breath of War

by Trevor Alixopulos (Illustrator)

Paperback

$12.13 $13.00 Save 7% Current price is $12.13, Original price is $13. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

The Hot Breath of War by Trevor Alixopulos

The Hot Breath of War takes seemingly unrelated episodes of life during wartime and entwines them into one narrative. This subtle and well-written novel explores love amidst conflict and the seduction of violence itself. Alixopulos has a cartooning ability well beyond his years and his stories offer some of the most thoughtful insights available to comic book readers. The drawing is loose and comfortable but sharp and graphic. The Hot Breath of War is perfect for fans of Joe Sacco or Jules Feiffer, but stands as a unique work of graphic art. Trevor Alixopulos is the creator of numerous minis, as well as Mine Tonight. It was nominated for “Outstanding Graphic Novel” in the 2008 Ignatz Awards.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780979746536
Publisher: Alternative Comics
Publication date: 06/02/2016
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 17 Years

About the Author

Alixopulos is a cartoonist and illustrator. He takes particular interest in how icon and narrative interact and swap roles, and his stories usually explore broad social themes while using comicsy visual grammar to evoke the interior and the individual. Alixopulos’ graphic novel The Hot Breath of War is a set of stories grouped within a spectrum of passion and aggression. It engages wars from multiple perspectives, from participant to victim, and explores the euphemisms and symbols we use as incantations for conflict. The Hot Breath of War was nominated for Outstanding Graphic Novel in the 2008 Ignatz Awards and featured on The Comic Journal's “Top 100 Comics of the Decade.” Alixopulos' art has been featured at RGB Callery, Giant Robot New York, Charles M. Schulz Museum, Gallery of Sea & Heaven, ANTHEM Magazine and STUDIO Gallery. He lives in California.

Table of Contents

1: We Are Defated
2: Data Recovery
3: There's a Monkey On My Back...
4: Vallodolid 1936
5: ...And His Breath is Hot.
6: A Journey in Time

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews