Hot Lead, Cold Iron

Hot Lead, Cold Iron

by Ari Marmell

Paperback

$14.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Hot Lead, Cold Iron by Ari Marmell

Hot Lead, Cold Iron is the first novel in a brand-new fantasy detective series that will appeal to fans of Rivers of London and The Dresden Files 


Chicago, 1932. Mick Oberon may look like just another private detective, but beneath the fedora and the overcoat, he's got pointy ears and he's packing a wand. 

Oberon's used to solving supernatural crimes, but the latest one's extra weird. A mobster's daughter was kidnapped sixteen years ago, replaced with a changeling, and Mick's been hired to find the real child. The trail's gone cold, but what there is leads Sideways, to the world of the Fae, where the Seelie Court rules. And Mick's not really welcome in the Seelie Court any more. He'll have to wade through Fae politics and mob power struggles to find the kidnapper – and of course it's the last person he expected.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781781168226
Publisher: Titan
Publication date: 05/13/2014
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 787,306
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Ari Marmell is a fantasy and horror writer, with novels and short stories published through Spectra (Random House), Pyr, Wizards of the Coast, and others. He is the author of role-playing game materials for Dungeons & Dragons and the World of Darkness line, as well as the tie-in novel to the hit video game Darksiders. He lives in Austin, Texas with his wife, George.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hot Lead, Cold Iron 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
ChgoReader2014 More than 1 year ago
Pretty good alternate reality private eye mystery. I found Oberon a very likeable guy and enjoyed his wise cracking asides. He does get the job done even though it wasn't easy. I enjoyed it enough to consider reading the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good enough first book to keep me reading into the next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very different from my normal reading , but I truly enjoywd this.
LDWriter2 More than 1 year ago
Very well done paranormal noir tale. I find it hard to put down in places and I will be getting the next one in the series. Lots of adventure and well done scenes. And a very interesting world well thought out. I do recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely follows in the footsteps of the Dresden Files. Dresden is a wizard; Oberon is a Fae. Both are written in the first person showing a smart-aleck who dislikes authority. Marmell doesn't do as a good a job at doing "asides" where he explains things about his alternate worlds, so the reader sometimes doesn't understand about the different being in that world. If you give Butcher's Dresden a 10, then Marmell's Oberon deserves a 7. I will probably buy the next installment of the series, but I won't go running for it like I would for Dresden.
InvestedIvana More than 1 year ago
Since my husband is big into tabletop gaming, I’m familiar with the name Ari Marmell, but I hadn’t before read his fiction. I’m so glad I picked up Hot Lead, Cold Iron as it’s now a new favorite. Set in the early 1930’s in an alternate Chicago where magic and the supernatural exist, the story is, essentially, a noir detective mystery. I love some of the traditional faerie details used in the story, such as the use of salt to dispel bad luck and Mick’s love of milk and cream. But there are some fun unique aspects, too, such as Faerie being patterned after earth because the Fae are essentially mimics. Mick’s snark makes him a perfect detective of the genre and is fun to hear. Purchased. Review courtesy of onebooktwo.com | one book, two reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not what I expected, but a new favorite!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Sorry."