The House of Dust and Dreams

The House of Dust and Dreams

by Brenda Reid

Paperback(Reprint)

$12.95
Usually ships within 1 week

Overview

A house in ruins. An island at war. A love affair just beginning...

'This is one of the most fantastic books I have ever read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

The House of Dust and Dreams is perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece and The Island, or Tracy Rees's , The Hourglass

***********************************

Greece 1936.

A young British diplomat and his wife have been posted to Athens. Hugh loves the life there but his spirited and unconventional wife, Evadne, finds it hard to fit in with the whirl of endless parties and socialising.

When Hugh is sent to Crete to sort out a problem, they stay in a rundown house owned by his family. His wife falls in love with the place and the people, and stays on when Hugh returns to his duties. As she tries to rebuild the ramshackle home, Evadne - known as Heavenly by the locals - makes firm friends with Anthi, a young woman from the village and Christo, the handsome and charismatic young builder.

But the dark clouds of war are gathering and the island will become a crucible of violence and bloodshed in the days to come. For Heavenly, her friends and family, it will be the greatest test they have ever known.

***********************************

Readers love The House of Dust and Dreams

'Absolutely loved this book. Full of the smells, sights and sounds of the real Greece... anyone with a tender heart and love of Greece will adore it' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The House of Dust and Dreams - took my breath away' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781409120131
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Publication date: 04/01/2012
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Brenda Reid was an award winning producer at the BBC before becoming Head of Drama at Anglia Television. She worked with, amongst others, Rose Tremain, Alan Bennett, Jilly Cooper, P.D. James, Fay Weldon and Lynda la Plante. She was also the executive producer of the popular series Ballykissangel. Brenda now divides her time between the Welsh borders, her children's houses in London and her village house in Crete.

Customer Reviews