Pub. Date:
The House on the Borderland (Heathen Edition)

The House on the Borderland (Heathen Edition)

by William Hope Hodgson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 22


William Hope Hodgson (1877-1918) was an English author best known for The Night Land (1912) and, this, his second novel, The House on the Borderland. Noted by H. P. Lovecraft as “a classic of the first water,” it is considered a literary milestone that signaled a radical departure from the typical Gothic fiction of the late 19th century, ushering in a newer more realistic and scientific cosmic horror that left a marked impression on those who would become the great writers of weird tales of the mid-twentieth century.

The story within the story is a hallucinatory account of an old recluse and his very strange house in which he experiences attacks by supernatural swine-beasts, travels to otherworldly dimensions, and bears witness to the destruction of the solar system — “it is galactic adventure, prophetic fantasy, macabre romance, and drugless trip, and brilliantly unites its many disturbing elements, easily equalling, if not surpassing, all predecessors and contemporaries.”

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781948316088
Publisher: Heathen Creative, LLC
Publication date: 04/03/2019
Pages: 168
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.39(d)

Table of Contents

Heathenry (A Note on the Text)

Introduction to the Manuscript

Prologue: The Finding of the Manuscript

  1. The Plain of Silence
  2. The House in the Arena
  3. The Earth
  4. The Thing in the Pit
  5. The Swine-Things
  6. The Attack
  7. After the Attack
  8. In the Cellars
  9. The Time of Waiting
  10. The Searching of the Gardens
  11. The Subterranean Pit
  12. The Trap in the Great Cellar
  13. The Sea of Sleep
  14. The Noise in the Night
  15. The Awakening
  16. The Slowing Rotation
  17. The Green Star
  18. The End of the Solar System
  19. The Celestial Globes
  20. The Dark Sun
  21. The Dark Nebula
  22. Pepper
  23. The Footsteps in the Garden
  24. The Thing From the Arena
  25. The Luminous Speck

Epilogue: Conclusion

Customer Reviews