Houston Might Be Heaven: Rockin' R&B in Texas 1947-1951

Houston Might Be Heaven: Rockin' R&B in Texas 1947-1951


$26.35 $28.99 Save 9% Current price is $26.35, Original price is $28.99. You Save 9%.
Want it by Wednesday, November 21 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/19/2011
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065778521
catalogNumber: 7785
Rank: 243150


Disc 1

  1. Little Willie's Boogie
  2. My Best Wishes
  3. Got a Feelin' You're Foolin'
  4. Everything's Been Done Before
  5. Hattie Green
  6. I Cried
  7. Jelly Roll
  8. Louisiana Boogie
  9. Goin' Down to Nashville
  10. Oo Wee Baby
  11. In a Boogie Moon
  12. She's So Fine
  13. Jumpin' the Blues
  14. Your Little Girl is Gone
  15. Love's a Gamble
  16. Christmas Blues
  17. Far Away Blues
  18. Fly Chick Bounce
  19. Fisherman's Blues
  20. Howling On Dowling
  21. Smalley's Jump
  22. Young Women's Advice
  23. My Woman Put Me Down
  24. I've Played This Town
  25. Free Way Blues

Disc 2

  1. Rainin' in My Heart
  2. My Blues Have Rolled Away
  3. Texarkana Bound
  4. The Blues Pick On Me
  5. Reckless Lover
  6. Mabel Mabel
  7. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
  8. Come On Let's Ride
  9. I Always End Up Blue
  10. I Screamed and I Cried (I Have Often Wondered)
  11. Blues Don't Make Me cry
  12. Sweet Happy Home
  13. Oh I Got the Blues
  14. Gonna End My Worries
  15. I'm Writing You Baby
  16. I Want to See You Baby
  17. Fat Girl Boogie
  18. Oo-Wee Baby
  19. She's My Baby
  20. I Wake Up Screaming
  21. I'm Telling You People
  22. How Long Must I Suffer
  23. Got a Big Fine Baby
  24. Please Tell Me Baby
  25. Lord Have Mercy
  26. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie

Disc 3

  1. Helpless
  2. Down in the Groovy
  3. Boogie Woogie Playgirl
  4. Swanee River
  5. Better Wake Up Baby
  6. Real Fine Girl
  7. My Baby Loves Me So
  8. I'm Just Another Fool
  9. Bad Luck Got My Man
  10. All Right Baby
  11. Bad Luck and Trouble
  12. Room and Board Boogie
  13. Hey Joe
  14. Somebody Gotta Go
  15. Got a Mean Woman
  16. Why Did You Leave Me
  17. I Don't Want No Woman
  18. Louise
  19. Cloudy Weather Blues
  20. I'm From Texas
  21. (All Alone) I Sit and Cry
  22. Six Foot Papa
  23. Married Woman Blues
  24. Play Boy Blues
  25. Sampson St. Boogie
  26. Got the Boogie Woogie Blues

Disc 4

  1. Hard Times
  2. Goin' Back Home
  3. Change Your Ways
  4. Misery Blues
  5. Worried Blues
  6. You Gotta Go
  7. Leaving You Baby
  8. I'm In Love With You
  9. Saved All My Money
  10. I'm Leavin'
  11. You Won't Stay Home
  12. Why Should I Worry
  13. I'm So Lonely
  14. Let's Go Back to the Country
  15. That's My Baby
  16. Hello Baby
  17. I Love You Baby, Pt. 1
  18. I Love You Baby, Pt. 2
  19. What you Gonna Do
  20. What In the World am I Gonna Do
  21. Shake a Leg
  22. I Often Wonder
  23. Miss Georgia
  24. She's Always On My Mind
  25. Dirty Mistreater
  26. I'm Looking for My Baby

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peppermint Harris   Vocals
Little Willie Littlefield   Piano,Vocals
Big Mama Thornton   Vocals
Joe Houston   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Goree Carter   Guitar,Vocals
Perry Cain   Vocals
Donald Cooks   Bass
Joe Fritz   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Clarence "Bon Ton" Garlow   Guitar,Vocals
Henry Hayes   Alto Saxophone
Nelson Mills   Trumpet
Elmore Nixon   Piano,Vocals
Frankie Lee Sims   Guitar
L.C. Williams   Vocals
Conrad Johnson   Alto Saxophone
Willie Johnson   Piano,Vocals
Lonnie Lyons   Piano,Vocals
Louis Pitts   Bass
Clarence Samuels   Vocals
Allison Tucker   Drums
Preacher Lee Graves   Vocals
Nelson Carson   Guitar
John Hogg   Vocals
Wilmer Shakesnider   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Sam Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Andrew "Smokey" Hogg   Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Jimmy Vincent   Trumpet
Ed Harris   Baritone Saxophone
Shelby Lackey   Alto Saxophone
Carlo Campbell   Vocals
Violet Hall   Vocals
Robert Smith   Piano,Vocals
Hubert Robinson   Vocals
Mildred Smith   Piano
Johnny Marshall   Drums
Ed Wiley   Tenor Saxophone
Little T-Bone   Guitar,Vocals
Willie Holiday   Vocals
Ben Turner   Drums
Buster Pickerns   Piano
Blip Thompkins   Trombone
Percy Henderson   Vocals
Lavarda Durst   Piano,Vocals
Frank Minn   Trumpet

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews