Houston Rap Tapes: An Oral History of Bayou City Hip-Hop

Houston Rap Tapes: An Oral History of Bayou City Hip-Hop

Houston Rap Tapes: An Oral History of Bayou City Hip-Hop

Houston Rap Tapes: An Oral History of Bayou City Hip-Hop


$27.99  $29.95 Save 7% Current price is $27.99, Original price is $29.95. You Save 7%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 9
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The neighborhoods of Fifth Ward, Fourth Ward, Third Ward, and the Southside of Houston, Texas, gave birth to Houston rap, a vibrant music scene that has produced globally recognized artists such as Geto Boys, DJ Screw, Pimp C and Bun B of UGK, Fat Pat, Big Moe, Z-Ro, Lil’ Troy, and Paul Wall. Lance Scott Walker and photographer Peter Beste spent a decade documenting Houston’s scene, interviewing and photographing the people—rappers, DJs, producers, promoters, record label owners—and places that give rap music from the Bayou City its distinctive character. Their collaboration produced the books Houston Rap and Houston Rap Tapes.

This second edition of Houston Rap Tapes amplifies the city’s hip-hop history through new interviews with Scarface, Slim Thug, Lez Moné, B L A C K I E, Lil’ Keke, and Sire Jukebox of the original Ghetto Boys. Walker groups the interviews into sections that track the different eras and movements in Houston rap, with new photographs and album art that reveal the evolution of the scene from the 1970s to today’s hip-hop generation. The interviews range from the specifics of making music to the passions, regrets, memories, and hopes that give it life. While offering a view from some of Houston’s most marginalized areas, these intimate conversations lay out universal struggles and feelings. As Willie D of Geto Boys writes in the foreword, “Houston Rap Tapes flows more like a bunch of fellows who haven’t seen each other for ages, hanging out on the block reminiscing, rather than a calculated literary guide to Houston’s history.”

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781477317174
Publisher: University of Texas Press
Publication date: 10/15/2018
Edition description: New
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 429,857
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Lance Scott Walker has written for the Houston Chronicle, Houston Press, Red Bull Music Academy, Vice, Wondering Sound, Local Houston, and Free Press Houston. He is the host of Houston Rap Tapes Radio and the founder of the live writers series Evil Hour Evening Reading.

Table of Contents

  • Foreword by Willie D
  • Preface by Lance Scott Walker
  • Foundation
    • MC Wickett Crickett (2010)
    • DJ Steve Fournier (2016)
    • Darryl Scott (2007)
    • Captain Jack (2011)
    • Pam Collins (2012)
    • Jazzie Redd (2016)
  • Rhinestone
    • DJ Ready Red (2008)
    • Willie D (2007)
    • Ricky Royal (2012)
    • Romeo Poet (2012)
    • Elite Al-B (2012)
    • Raheem (2008)
    • Lil’ Troy (2010)
    • Scarface (2017)
    • Def Jam Blaster (2016)
    • Sire Jukebox (2016)
  • Southside
    • K-Rino (2006)
    • DJ Domo (2007)
    • Rob Quest (2017)
    • N.O. Joe (2017)
    • DJ Styles (2014)
    • Matt Sonzala (2012)
    • Big Mike (2011)
    • Lez Moné (2017)
    • The ARE (2007)
    • K-Otix (2008)
    • Craig (BBC) Long (2007)
    • Murder One (2008)
    • Point Blank (2011)
    • Dope E. (2010)
    • Top Dog (2007)
    • Snapp of The Niyat (2017)
    • B-1 (2010)
    • Cl’Che (2010)
    • Justice Allāh (2011)
    • Z-Ro (2011)
    • 380 Dat Lady (2014)
    • KB Da Kidnappa (2011)
    • Icey Hott (2012)
    • DJ Gold (2011)
    • Klondike Kat (2012)
    • Russell Washington (2011)
    • DJ Chill (2007)
    • Shorty Mac (2008)
    • Lil’ Keke (2006)
    • Big DeMo (2011)
    • Wood (2008)
    • LOS (2011)
    • Southside Playaz (2006)
    • DJ DMD (2011)
    • Bun B (2006)
  • Northside
    • G-Dash (2006)
    • Mike Moe (2010)
    • Salih Williams (2007)
    • Paul Wall (2011)
    • Slim Thug (2013)
    • Meshah Hawkins (2011)
    • Kay of The Foundation (2017)
  • Future
    • Big Gerb (2014)
    • Cal Wayne (2017)
    • Dr. Robert S. Muhammad (2011)
    • OMB Bloodbath (2017)
    • B L A C K I E (2017)
  • Acknowledgments

What People are Saying About This

Kurtis Blow

Houston Rap Tapes tells a story. Houston, Texas, is a bona fide hip-hop city. It has a history, it has its b-boys, it has its graf artists, its DJs and its rappers that the people have supported since the beginning, and I love them. This book reflects that.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items