How Lucky You Are

How Lucky You Are

by Kristyn Kusek Lewis
3.9 47

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

How Lucky You Are by Kristyn Kusek Lewis

In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, HOW LUCKY YOU ARE is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their longstanding friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her. Stay-at-home mom Amy has a perfect life on paper, but as the horrific secret she's keeping from her friends threatens to reveal itself, she panics.

As life's pressures build all around them, Waverly knows she has some big decisions to make. In doing so, she will discover that the lines between loyalty and betrayal can become blurred, happy endings aren't always clear-cut, and sometimes you have to risk everything to gain the life you deserve.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455502028
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 09/04/2012
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 240,065
File size: 1000 KB

About the Author

Kristyn Kusek Lewis has an MFA in Creative Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and has worked in magazines for fifteen years. She has written for The New York Times, O: The Oprah Magazine, Real Simple, Glamour, Allure, Good Housekeeping, Self, More, Redbook, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

How Lucky You Are 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Lilac_Wolf More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I even read late into the night and finally finished it before work this morning. The main character, Waverly is a woman we can all relate to. She feels inferior to her friends, that she hasn't "grown up" yet, and when she gets so stressed out she hides from the issue (like bills). One of her friends is a woman from a wealthy family, whom she is jealous of the money and the beauty. Then her other friend marries a doctor, has a child and settles down in the suburbs. Wavery is sinking under a mountain of debt and she can't seem to appreciate what she does have. When things start coming apart for her friends, she realizes what she nearly lost. She works on her getting own life together, even as she is helping her girlfriends. This struck me as very realistic. Our lives aren't running a single story-line, we have as many things pulling at us as we allow. Friends, family, work, children, even school. All that goes on simultaneously and the author did a fantastic job capturing that. Yes another 5 star review. I've had a very lucky week.
jpcoggins More than 1 year ago
You Are Your Friend's Keeper.  I was surprised by how much I liked this book.  I think it was the writing style.  The different sad situations these 3 friends are in should be kind of a downer, yet the book felt like I was watching a movie about characters I really cared about and rooted for.  It was well-written, thought-provoking and made me want to read more of her books in the future.  
girlinshoes More than 1 year ago
Loved, loved this book. An inside view to female friendships and how we sometimes think the "grass is greener on the other side".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On the whole, I enjoyed this book, although I thought the protoganist spent too much time worrying about her friends rather than herself. She has financial troubles and doesn't tell her partner, even though he shares the house with her. This is one of those stories where everyone else's life looks great from the outside, until you find out the truth.
AlanAbrams More than 1 year ago
This is a phenomenal piece of chic lit. The characters are well developed and worthy of the reader's investment in reading further.
anovelreview_blogspot_com More than 1 year ago
Waverly owns a sweet little bakery, but is secretly struggling to not lose everything. Here she is at 35 trying not to lose her business, her house and not able to share the information with anyone. She struggles with feeling like a failure—she and her long term boyfriend aren’t even married. Her best friends have it so together. Amy is just as sweet as they come and is married to a doctor, lives in the ‘white picket fence’ house on a cul-de-sac and has an adorable little girl, Emma. Kate is a knock-out with the world at her feet. Born into wealth and power, gave up her job as a successful travel writer to marry the man of her dreams Brendan. Not only is Brendan the man of Kate’s dreams he is running for governor of Virginia—how is that for picture perfect? Waverly is the anchor of their friendship. She begins to see a slow unraveling of their friendship, Waverly puts herself out there crossing some friendship lines and what she finds makes her stop and realize how lucky she is. Realizing looking at someone’s life from the outside you can assume they are the lucky ones, but you don’t really know what goes on behind closed doors—not even your best friends. How Lucky You Are, is a testament to the power of friendship and a story of finding happiness is being true to yourself and not living the ‘life’ others think you should. How Lucky You Are is read through the eyes of Waverly. I’ll be honest and really wasn’t sure about this book. It’s a new author and I’ve read so many books on friendship lately, I just wasn’t really excited. What a mistake that was! I loved this book! I believe the topics in the novel are relevant! This looked at friendship in a way I believe is so real, not we tell each other everything—but real. We want our friends to think we have it together. We open up to each other this much, but maybe not all the way. Keeping part of ourselves hidden. And the power of getting real. I related to Waverly in a way that surprised me. I’m very open and honest with my husband, whereas Waverly holds back from her boyfriend, Larry. Where I connected with her was some of those underlying feelings she faces when dealing with the effects of having lost her parents. I know since losing my mom there is a huge part of myself I keep very guarded with other women. I don’t want to open myself up to lose someone again. I really got that about her and could see the issues it causes her. The ending leaves itself open to come back and see these characters again (hint, hint Kristyn!). I am definitely recommending How Lucky You Are! I will also be waiting to see what Kristyn Kusek Lewis writes next.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoy all the character. Outstanding book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters in this book are well developed. Great friendships are explored and it's not always easy for any of them. You always think someone is better off in some way that you aren't. Life show you there is never just one way to anything. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing read.
SoutherenGirl More than 1 year ago
Not a bad read just dragged on a bit. The ending was not that great and really with your best friends you confide in not block from
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by NetGalley for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book I still haven’t recovered from reading this book. And I mean that in the nicest most complimentary way possible. It’s one of those books that haunts you, enchants you, grips your heart, your soul, your mind, until finally when the pages stop clicking, you can do nothing save stare at the wall for a good ten minutes and wonder what the heck just happened. This is a new author to me. I didn’t really know what to expect. Her writing has been compared to Emily Giffin, who I love, so I kind of knew what to expect as far as content, but wow was I blown away. It exceeded my expectations and will be a book that I recommend for years to come. We follow loveable bakery owner Waverly. She has lived with her boyfriend for years, content with her life, except she has a secret–debt. And she hasn’t told her wonderfully loyal and secure boyfriend, something that hangs over their relationship the entire book. Amy, one of Waverlys best friends, appears to have the perfect little subdivision life. A husband, a perfect house, a dog, and a way too optimistic attitude, but everything is not always as it seems, she too has a secret. And finally, we meet Kate. Beautiful, rich, Kate. The girl you looked up to in high school that wasn’t necessarily mean to you but above you, if you get what I mean. She’s arrogant, self assured, but also fiercely loyal. On the outside she’s perfect, a soon to be politicians wife, beautiful, rich, I mean really what else could you want? The book is given through Waverlys point of view. She has financial struggles of her own but refuses to rely on anyone. Her boyfriend is amazing, yet she doesn’t want to add stress to his life, part of this is that she has major trust issues. Her parents died leaving her an orphan at a young age and she’s left with nothing. She wants to make it on her own and frankly gets tired hearing of her friend Kate complain about her perfect life. To make matters worse, her other best friend Amy has suddenly shut down, not to mention the fact that mysterious bruises have started appearing on her person. This book gets women. It understands the typical mindset we have when looking at other peoples lives. “If only I had that job, if only I had that much money, if only I had perfect legs.” I mean seriously, she hatches out every single selfish thing any woman has ever thought and lays it across the table. Experiencing life is key in this book. Joy, is also key. How can you fully live life or experience it for that matter when you are constantly living up to false expectations you’ve given yourself? Life is not always as it seems and the grass is not always greener on the other side. Although this is not my typical cup of tea, I found myself staring cross eyed at my kindle until it was finished. It was a beautiful, heartfelt masterpiece. If Miss Lewis continues to write such emotional stories, she will soon be a household name. You’ve heard it here folks! The book did contain some language , no sex, and some kissing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started one way and went into an unexpected direction that really caused you to relate to and care about the characters. We have all either been through or know someone who has gone through these situations. Well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! I really enjoyed reading it! The Plot and characters were great! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Surprised at how much I enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago