×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How Not to Run for President
     

How Not to Run for President

5.0 2
by Catherine Clark
 

New in paperback! Fans of Andrew Clements and Gordon Korman will love this funny book about a boy who accidentally gets mixed up in a presidential campaign and becomes a very unlikely star.

When the middle-school band is called to play for a presidential campaign rally, Aidan is right there with his clarinet, just in time to save the candidate's life. Interviewed

Overview

New in paperback! Fans of Andrew Clements and Gordon Korman will love this funny book about a boy who accidentally gets mixed up in a presidential campaign and becomes a very unlikely star.

When the middle-school band is called to play for a presidential campaign rally, Aidan is right there with his clarinet, just in time to save the candidate's life. Interviewed by the media, he speaks up in favor of the need to save jobs—like his mom's, for instance. Even though he's in the middle of Little League season, for pete's sake, the candidate convinces him to join her tour of the Midwest. Problem 1: The candidate's daughter HATES Aidan. Problem 2: What do you do when your whole life has been turned upside down and you can't get away from the media? Problem 3: What's a red-blooded American boy to do when he's asked to play the clarinet on national TV and the local bully back home is giving interviews saying Aidan's the nerd of the century?

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
A 12-year-old boy unwittingly becomes an overnight media darling after being interviewed by a TV reporter during a third-party presidential candidate’s visit to his Ohio town. Aidan (whose mother has recently been laid off) tells the reporter and the candidate, Bettina Brandon, that if she is elected he hopes she can keep manufacturing strong and save jobs—and then makes a dramatic tackle to protect her from a falling campaign sign. Brandon’s ratings get an immediate bump from the news footage, and Aidan is recruited to join her on the campaign trail. Making the trip bumpy is Brandon’s disgruntled daughter, Emma, who has no interest in living in the White House and uses Aidan to try to sabotage the campaign. Clark (Love and Other Things I’m Bad At) includes some tidbits about presidential politics and the 24-hour news cycle, as well as lots of silliness along the way—there’s a Facebook movement to recruit Aidan for the v-p slot, and the media launches a smear campaign to undermine his credibility. A lighthearted election-year romp. Ages 8–12. (Jan.)
From the Publisher
"[A]musing moments, as well as the sympathy factor, to draw tween readers." School Library Journal on Meanicures

"[A] great book for reluctant tween readers...Chick Lit for Tweens!" - Truth be Told blog on Meanicures

"Features [Clark's] trademark sense of humor, terrific dialog, and memorable characters." - Kliatt, on The Alison Rules

Kirkus Reviews
When 12-year-old Aidan Schroeckenbauer saves presidential candidate Bettina Brandon from a falling campaign sign and ends up the "Clarinet Hero," he's adopted by the campaign and hits the road. Aidan brings good publicity, but it becomes a hard road when he endures attacks on his clarinet playing, his baseball prowess and even his age, as reporters say he might actually be older than 12, making him ineligible to play Little League. Even his mother, laid off from the local FreezeStar factory, has been accused of being a spy for a Chinese corporation. Partly a light satire on modern elections, Clark's tale is mostly a fun romp, lightened by the contentious relationship between Aidan and Governor Brandon's daughter Emma. Their often-humorous banter keeps the story on track as they become friends and learn to work together to keep the campaign rolling. Names of political figures and Brandon's Fresh Idea Party are made up, and even the Democratic candidate is said to be a former Democratic vice president, Jack Mathias. (Though being fictional is just as well, since Aidan's mother calls him an "out-of-touch idiot.") Humorous dialogue, smart pacing and some dirty politics make for an engaging read. With an election around the corner, this isn't a bad way for young readers to view the political arena. (Fiction. 8-12)
School Library Journal
Gr 4–6—Aidan, 12, belongs to a hardworking, blue-collar Ohio family. On a historic day for their small town, the independent presidential candidate comes to speak at a rally. Aidan is asked for his opinion on what the country needs, and his support for local businesses gets him some face time with Governor Brandon. During their conversation, he shoves her out of the way of a careening campaign sign. This heroic episode, posted all over YouTube, nets her some major positive press, so she invites Aidan to come along with her and her daughter on their tour. Things start going awry, and Aidan finds that Brandon's daughter is sabotaging him and the campaign. When opposition mudslinging puts his family's integrity into question, his enemy becomes an unlikely ally in this political war. The book is full of fictionalized current events and political issues, and readers would benefit from some adult explanation. Aidan's father makes disparaging remarks about a woman's ability to lead, with no major corrections from other characters. The rest of the story is lighthearted and fun. If they can get past the uncomfortable remarks about the nominee's gender, readers will garner quite a bit of insight into a campaign while also enjoying an upbeat tale of one boy's 15 minutes of fame.—Devin Burritt, Jackson Memorial Library, Tenants Harbor, ME

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781606841013
Publisher:
Lerner Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/10/2012
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile:
600L (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

A native of Massachusetts, Catherine Clark now lives in Minnesota. She is the author of Meanicures and How to Meet Boys among other novels. She has a master of fine arts from Colorado State University. Her website is www.catherineclark.org

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How Not to Run for President 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My teacher uses this book as a read-aloud. It is the best book EVER!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book it is awesome