Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
How to Have an Enemy: Righteous Anger and the Work of Peace

How to Have an Enemy: Righteous Anger and the Work of Peace

by Melissa Florer-Bixler


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 3


Does Jesus’ call to love our enemies mean that we should remain silent in the face of injustice?

Jesus called us to love our enemies. But to befriend an enemy, we first have to acknowledge their existence, understand who they are, and recognize the ways they are acting in opposition to God’s good news. In How to Have an Enemy: Righteous Anger and the Work of Peace, Melissa Florer-Bixler looks closely at what the Bible says about enemies—who they are, what they do, and how Jesus and his followers responded to them. The result is a theology that allows us to name our enemies as a form of truth-telling about ourselves, our communities, and the histories in which our lives are embedded. Only then can we grapple with the power of the acts of destruction carried out by our enemies, and invite them to lay down their enmity, opening a path for healing, reconciliation, and unity.

Jesus named and confronted his enemies as an essential part to loving them. In this provocative book, Florer-Bixler calls us to do the same.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781513808130
Publisher: APG Sales & Distribution
Publication date: 07/20/2021
Pages: 250
Sales rank: 172,088
Product dimensions: 5.28(w) x 7.95(h) x 0.71(d)

About the Author

Melissa Florer-Bixler is a writer and pastor with degrees from Duke University and Princeton Theological Seminary. Her ministry at Raleigh Mennonite Church has been featured in The Atlantic and Sojourners. She writes for Geez MagazineChristian Century, and Anabaptist World, among others. She is the author of Fire by Night: Finding God in the Pages of the Old Testament. She lives with her husband and three children in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Praying for Enemies
Chapter 2: Prophetic Lament and the Reign of God 
Chapter 3: The Enemies of Jesus 
Chapter 4: For Fear of the Jews 
Chapter 5: Mary’s Prophecy 
Chapter 6: Jesus Draws the Line 
Chapter 7: The Sword of His Mouth


Raleigh, NC 27604

Customer Reviews