Hunting the President: Threats, Plots and Assassination Attempts--From FDR to Obama

Hunting the President: Threats, Plots and Assassination Attempts--From FDR to Obama

by Mel Ayton


View All Available Formats & Editions


In American history, four U.S. Presidents have been murdered at the hands of an assassin. In each case the assassinations changed the course of American history.

But most historians have overlooked or downplayed the many threats modern presidents have faced, and survived. Author Mel Ayton sets the record straight in his new book Hunting the President: Threats, Plots and Assassination Attempts—From FDR to Obama, telling the sensational story of largely forgotten—or never-before revealed—malicious attempts to slay America’s leaders.

Supported by court records, newspaper archives, government reports, FBI files, and transcripts of interviews from presidential libraries, Hunting the President reveals:
  • How an armed, would-be assassin stalked President Roosevelt and spent ten days waiting across the street from the White House for his chance to shoot him
  • How the Secret Service foiled a plot by a Cuban immigrant who told coworkers he was going to shoot LBJ from a window overlooking the president’s motorcade route
  • How a deranged man broke into Reagan’s California home and attempted to strangle the former president before he was subdued by Secret Service agents.
  • In early 1992 a mentally deranged man stalking Bush turned up at the wrong presidential venue for his planned assassination attempt
  • The relationships presidents held with their protectors and the effect it had on the Secret Service’s mission

Hunting the President opens the vault of stories about how many of our recent Presidents have come within a hair’s breadth of assassination, leaving America’s fate in the balance. Most of these stories have remained buried—until now. Includes glossy photo signature of historic pictures and documents

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781621572077
Publisher: Regnery History
Publication date: 04/14/2014
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

The list of Regnery authors reads like a "who's who" of conservative thought, action, and history.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Chapter 1 The Boss 1

Chapter 2 General 21

Chapter 3 Scorecard 37

Chapter 4 Lancer 55

Chapter 5 Volunteer 71

Chapter 6 Searchlight 87

Chapter 7 Passkey 109

Chapter 8 Deacon 127

Chapter 9 Rawhide 143

Chapter 10 Timberwolf 165

Chapter 11 Eagle 185

Chapter 12 Trailblazer 205

Chapter 13 Renegade 221

Epilogue: Notoriety and the "Copycat Effect" 243

Acknowledgments 249

Notes 251

Bibliography 283

Index 303

Customer Reviews