Pub. Date:
Hurricane Force

Hurricane Force

by Johnny & the HurricanesJohnny & the Hurricanes


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


Ace's double-disc collection of rarities from the swinging instrumental outfit Johnny & the Hurricanes opens with a song called "The Psychedelic Worm," a tantalizing title that suggests this Midwestern party band of the pre-Beatles era may have decided to ride the paisley dragon in the late '60s. That's not the case. Styles changed, fads came and went, and Johnny & the Hurricanes essentially stayed the same, churning out good-time rock & roll even if they threaded a Beatles tune into their repertoire or added a little more tremolo to their guitar. Disc one of Hurricane Force! chronicles some of these odd little detours -- the hopping rockabilly of "Um Um Um" is a highlight, partially for its tempo and partially for having the rare lead vocal; similarly, "Judy's Moody" has vocals, along with one of the livelier arrangements, all making for a good near-novelty -- and it's a good snapshot of how Johnny & the Hurricanes essentially stayed the same as the times changed, but the second disc of live selections cut between 1962 and 1990 might be a better testament to their enduring appeal. Although it has the occasional clunker -- "Bye Bye Blackbird" is stunted by cavernous '80s technology -- this generally shows how hard the band could really rock, all the way into the '80s, and that revelation is what would make this worth a listen to anybody who's not the kind of diehard who will pop for this collection without hearing a note.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667070720
catalogNumber: 5011438
Rank: 126506


Disc 1

  1. The Psychedelic Worm
  2. Home Baby (Comin' Home Baby)
  3. Du, Du Liegst Mir Im Herzen
  4. Night Train
  5. You're To Blame (You're So Fine)
  6. Cheetas Uncle
  7. That Girl
  8. Cannon Blast
  9. C'est Si Bon
  10. Because I Love Her
  11. Ten Little Indians
  12. Um Um Um
  13. Hurricanes Boogie
  14. Darlene
  15. Rockin' T
  16. Jamaican Moon
  17. Sax Man
  18. Reviled
  19. Chili Beans (Theme From Come September)
  20. Crying In The Night
  21. Strange
  22. The Charmer
  23. Judy's Moody
  24. Sand Storm
  25. Rocking Goose
  26. What You Know About Love

Disc 2

  1. The Sheik Of Araby
  2. You Can't Sit Down
  3. Beatnik Fly
  4. Down Yonder
  5. Buckeye
  6. Old Smokie
  7. Ja-Da
  8. Oh Du Lieber Augustin
  9. Rocking Goose
  10. Red River Rock
  11. You Are My Sunshine
  12. Farewell Twist
  13. Harlem Nocturne
  14. Honky Tonk
  15. The Hurricane
  16. Night Fall
  17. Reveille Rock
  18. Paris Blues
  19. Without You
  20. Home Baby (aka Comin' Home Baby)
  21. Bye Bye Blackbird
  22. Sand Storm
  23. Time Bomb
  24. Come On Train
  25. Crossfire
  26. Red River Rock (Reprise)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny & the Hurricanes   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Jimmie Davis   Composer
Bobby Darin   Composer
Bill Doggett   Composer
Bob Dorough   Composer
Jimmy Forrest   Composer
T.J. Fowler   Composer
Bert Kaempfert   Arranger
Clifford Scott   Composer
Dee Clark   Composer
Fascinators   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Kal Mann   Composer
Willie Schofield   Composer
Rick Shorter   Composer
Alan Taylor   Liner Notes
Robert West   Composer
Shep Shepherd   Composer
Johnny Paris   Arranger,Composer
Dave Yorko   Composer
Harry Balk   Composer
Fred Mendelsohn   Arranger
Mort Dixon   Composer
Francis Wheeler   Composer
Ira Mack   Arranger
Oscar Washington   Composer
Cornell Muldrow   Composer
Benjamin Tucker   Composer
Harry B. Smith   Composer
McDonald   Composer,Photo Courtesy
Cornelius Jones   Composer
Ricky Gee   Photo Courtesy
Lance Finney   Composer

Customer Reviews