Husband and Wife: A Novel

Husband and Wife: A Novel

by Leah Stewart
3.6 18

Hardcover

$23.54 $24.99 Save 6% Current price is $23.54, Original price is $24.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Husband and Wife: A Novel by Leah Stewart

“Leah Stewart’s brilliantly written novel Husband and Wife is a deeply human book: funny, tender, smart, self-aware. When you read it you will laugh, you will cry, you will recognize others, you will recognize yourself.” — Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Castaways and Barefoot

From the highly acclaimed author of The Myth of You and Me comes a new novel about a young mother who finds her identity rocked to the core when her writer-husband reveals his next novel about infidelity isn’t entirely fiction. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Ayelet Waldman, and Marisa de los Santos, as well as memoirs like Happens Every Day and Perfection, will love Leah Stewart’s Husband and Wife.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061774508
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/04/2010
Pages: 344
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Leah Stewart is the author of the novels The Myth of You and Me and Body of a Girl. A recipient of an NEA Literature Fellowship, she lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her husband and their two young children. She teaches creative writing at the University of Cincinnati.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Husband and Wife 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
ReviewsByMolly More than 1 year ago
Husband and Wife was awesome, in my opinion. Not a rush out and buy me now awesome (though I do recommend you read this!), but awesome all the same. Leah Stewart was fantastic in creating this very true-to-life novel, about infidelity and finding oneself. Her writing style brings out the truth in a lot of today's societies, yet she keeps it just fictional enough that her readers are hooked for life. Sarah Price, married to a fiction writer, is all dolled up and ready to attend her best friend's wedding. Then, out of nowhere, her hubby writer drops THE bombshell. Oh yea. Imagine, all ready to go to a wedding and your hubby tells you, "honey, by the way, the FICTION novel I wrote about infidelity? Well, I wrote it based on the worst possible betrayal: I cheated on YOU." Wow. That was so not cool. So, what does Sarah do? Well, I would tell you that, but if I did, it would take away from the story and spoil the plot line for you. I will tell you that I loved the characters that Ms. Stewart created. From Sarah, to Nathan, to baby Binx. Each character was life like, and could have been a person I had met on the street. They instantly became a part of my heart as I sat there reading this crazy, often complex and serious story. I'm single, though I haven't always been. I'm divorced. For much of the same reasons in the story. My ex, well, yea, he branched out from the marriage so to speak. And, well, I am a better person than to have to submit myself and my children into that situation. So, though I am no longer married, I could relate quite often to the thoughts and the feelings of Sarah. Some of the things that she did though, I can't ever imagine doing that. But, between the characters, the plot and the author's writing skills, I definitely recommend this with a 5 star praise. But, be forewarned....it's complex, it's dramatic and often times, it's highly emotionally serious. While it IS a fast read, it's certainly NOT a light read.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Feeling some guilt, novelist Nathan Bennett confesses to his wife Sarah Price that he slept with another woman. She is stunned by his confession, which changes her priorities from which dress to wear at a wedding would make her look less fat to what to do about her relationship with Nathan; factoring in their two young children, Mattie and Binx. Whereas Nathan feels remorse, Sarah feels anger. She considers her options by looking at her past through a decision analysis of what could have been her life if she chose a differentpath. She ponders leaving her spouse and taking the kids with her of course while her anger grows as she gave up poetry writing and wants to be known as a poetess again. Then there is to consider her friend Rajiv, who has loved her forever. This is an interesting family drama in which an extramarital one night stand has shattered the trust between Husband and Wife. The lead couple feels genuine especially their emotions. However, it is the tense intriguing look back by Sarah who deeply examines lost opportunities when she made pivotal choices who makes the story line profound. Although the ending seems off kilter as a throwback to Austen's Regency era, fans will still appreciate this deep character study of one major indiscretion which has incredible relational costs. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Racheybug More than 1 year ago
I loved The Myth of You and Me, and had high hopes for this as well. This was much harder to stick with. It's possible it was just difficult for me to relate, where I identified with Myth very closely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago